5 thoughts on “Dreaming”

  1. When you get your short story written if you really want a place to submit it contact me I can give you decent list.

    Wow, thanks, Trevas! I’ll be sure to do that … and while I’m at it, I’ve got a ton (or, for you Northern Neighbors, a tonne) of other short stories written on my fiction blog. So feel free to drop names and I’ll drop ’em a line. 😉 But seriously, thank you for that. I appreciate it.

    I don’t think we’ll ever be able to interpret dreams, that is if they have any meaning at all. We know to little about our own minds, and the processes that drive them to answer the “Can we ever understand them” question.

    I agree. I think a lot of it is guesswork and speculation. But what do I know? My wife has hit some interpretations out of the park for me. Not all of ’em, but some.

    Having said that, I know a few people who interpret their dreams regularly, and sometimes those interpretations have truth to them. But then it’s like horoscopes, the interpretations are general enough that it’s easy for them to come true.

    True, true. 🙂 Like psychics who need you to tell them your name and birthday, right?

    Cheers,
    Trevas

  2. It’s a lot easier for me to dream when I’m getting enough sleep (which is so rare for me these days).

    You’re not alone, bud. Hope it gets better for you though.

    I used to practice lucid dreaming. I was never really good at it, but it was still a lot of fun. Especially flying dreams.

    My wife has done this too. I never have; I wish I knew how, sometimes controlling my dreams would be really handy.

    I have known folks who have had very specific dreams that later proved to be prophetic in nature. If we ever have dinner together, I’d be happy to discuss a couple of those with you – several are very dear (emotional) to me and I’d rather not blab about them on the net.

    I don’t blame you, and if you’re ever in the neighborhood, please, give me a shout. I’d love to do dinner. 🙂

    I personally believe that some dreams can have real meaning, and some “… may be an undigested bit of beef, a blot of mustard, a crumb of cheese, a fragment of underdone potato. There’s more of gravy than of grave…” about them.

    Yes, I believe sometimes they’re substantive, and other times, ol’ Ebenezer had it dead-on, didn’t he? Thanks for sounding off, Bryce.

  3. Dreams are like horoscope readings. Sometimes they match reality; sometimes they don’t. Just a coincidence.

    Great analogy! Chance crossings with reality. I like that.

  4. I think some dreaming reflects the brain processing events but some of it comes from somewhere else and I don’t know it it is wholly inside us or if there is some outside direction.

    It’s a fun concept. And I think most times I agree with that. Sometimes it’s internal, and other times … not. There’s a great story in there somewhere — which I’m sure has been written many times, but still — if only I can find it.

  5. Or and this is just me spitballin here, dreams could be directly affected by what you EAT right before you go to bed for the night…but I have also heard really rigouroud fornication before you go to sleep and you will dream really peaceful and happy dreams…dont know just a thought..Zman sends

    I think there’s something to that, Zman … just like Ebenezer Scrooge said (see Bryce’s quote above). And I’ll have to experiment with the fornication thing and see about that, though. 😉 😀

Whatta Ya Think?

