Practice Makes Perfect

10 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect”

  1. Things I do well, I don’t practice at. Come to think of it, I don’t do anything well. Well, nothing that I should be proud of. Burping on command isn’t something to be proud of.

    Well, maybe practicing something you WANT to do well in will help?

  2. Poetry is awesome practice and I have done that in the past. Right now I am blogging about my experiences with Le Guin’s writing craft book. Really good exercises.

    I have a good book on Revision & Self-Editing that has some terrific exercises in it too.

    I followed JA Konrath on his blog tour yesterday and he had an exercise, 70 word stories. I used the zombie idea you gave me. Worked nicely. I have an idea for expanding it too.

    Well, I’m glad I could contribute! I wish I could remember the zombie story I gave you now, though. Not for the life of me. 🙂

    I like going to workshops. I am checking out some online classes too. I need to build up my muscles and my CV because I think my dayjob is heading towards the teaching of the craft at the university level.

    Workshops, in better economic times for me, would be great. I’d love to do them. And take a class. Good luck with the teaching path.

  3. I’m pretty good at making people angry. I try to practice at least once a day.

    I’m such an expert with that I don’t NEED to practice anymore. Maybe we can open a business and market that service? 😉

    1. Have you seen the Monty Python sketch were people pay to have arguments?

      Sorry, not a fan of the MP crew. Don’t know if I ever sat through a whole episode. But I have to say, I know people who SHOULD pay. Maybe then they’d win one. 😉

  4. I have been working hard to achieve a near impossible feat–to write technical papers in such a way that they would be understood by everyone. It is still a working progress.

    Wow! A very aggressive endeavor, indeed! Good luck, Leafless!

  5. One of the things I did very well was run role playing games, D&D, VAMPIRE, UNKNOWN ARMIES, CALL OF CTHULHU and so many others. I entertained a lot of players over the years improvising stories and worlds.

    That sounds like fun!

    Now sadly work and distance has made me drop that hobby, but who knows what the future has in store for me? I haven’t thrown out my d20’s yet.

    You never know … you just never know … 🙂

    One of the things I know I do well is writing… especially now that I don’t take it as seriously as I used to. (I used to be such a ‘serious artist’) I think blogging has helped me find the joy of it again as well.

    Great news! If it’s no fun, what’s the point?

    I do wish I could write more like Clive Barker and less like a movie novelization… prose envy I guess.

    Practice makes perfect, Al … give it a shot. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Whatta Ya Think?

