The Sound of Silence

13 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence”

  1. Well, I’ve got this itch on my hands, especially my left hand. I can scratch it, but by doing so, my hand gets really beat up and rough looking, so I do my best not to scratch it. But I really want to.

    Growing hair on your palms? Better stop it before you go blind, dude.

    But more to your point. There’s this guy I work with. He sings, all day long. Some of the songs are tolerable, but some tunes, sounds a bit like he’s just making funny sounds and baby talk sounds which get really annoying really quickly. But he only sings while he works, not while he’s on break. So, singing means he’s working hard. So I just shut up and deal with it.

    Hm. Yeah, I can see that getting agitating after a while.

    1. Very funny sir. The itch/rash/whatever is on the back of my hand and fingers. Never the palms. Also, it’s more so on my left and I’m a righty.

      Still very suspicious, but … okay, if you say so.

  2. I get the silence thing. Richard likes it when the tv or video games or stereo are blaring, but I like it so I can just hear it. He usually gets mad when I ask him to turn it down, but you know what? He’s not the one trying to converse with the kids and take care of their needs, he just keeps his big head pointed at the screen and has nothing else to think about, so he can get over it. hmph.

    I’m reaching a point where I don’t even want it ON, at ALL. But I’ve got a snowball’s chance in hell of getting THAT done. 🙂

  3. My 6 yr old son likes quiet. He is the first to complain when something is loud. My mother-in-law refers to Christmas with us as her Quiet Christmas and her Christmas with her daughter’s family as her Loud Christmas.

    I’ve not known the bliss of quiet ones. Somehow, loud ones are all right … if it’s only the holidays, I can handle it. But having a six-year-old who wants quiet must be nice!

    The scratch–as you put it–driving me to distraction these days are my students who are never interested in anything. They fall asleep in class, every movie is boring, and they can’t keep up an end of a conversation. Not all of them but enough to make me crazy. And I keep trying to get their attention but the more I try the more frustrated I feel. In fact, this morning I decided not to try. They were bored, but I wasn’t as annoyed about it.

    Sometimes the best action is INaction, is it not? 😉

  4. I’m with you Darc–I just want silence, and alone time. I’m so blessed to live within footsteps of a stream and a beautiful wooded area, and although I have neighbors, they are not typically loud. So, if I could get the alone time, I could enjoy the quiet. It’s just not going to happen. The kids are home from school, my husband is out of work and learning to master the surround sound system in the living room. LOUD LOUD LOUD. It’s driving me insane. I was just thinking yesterday that I need to somehow find a way to work in some breathing room from all of this chaos. I’ve yet to find a solution, but I’ll let you know if I do. In the meantime, take a deep breath….good luck. 🙂

    Thank you so much. I’d think (but this is just me) that maybe the out-of-work-husband (which I’m) could maybe watch the kids for a couple hours and let you take that alone-time walk by the wooded stream? Or is that a pipe dream? That’s what I’d do in his position, but then, I’m probably not one to talk. I ask my wife to take the kids out to play but don’t do it as often as I should myself. Hope you catch a break soon. 🙂

    1. Yes, it sounds like an easy solution, doesn’t it? He would, but then the issue for me would be guilt. My little ones would want to come with me, and I would feel awful saying no. The only time they don’t want to come with me is if I’m going to the grocery store. My youngest is especially attached at the hip. You know, as I write this, I can see how ridiculous this really is…there is no reason why I shouldn’t be able to say “Mom needs a little alone time.” I really need to work on this whole guilt thing or it’s going to be a really lonnnng summer.

      I understand the guilt, though. Really. I do. I have similar issues and being an introvert, having alone time is critical. My wife understands, but it’s not easy to GET the time for either of us. So we do what we can. And I know you love your kids and the guilt that goes with saying no to them on something so simple. So don’t fret. I know it’s easier to say than do. I didn’t mean to sound judgmental. It was completely unintentional.

      I think I might just head to the bookstore, splurge on some kind of hot drink I can’t pronounce and a huge cookie, and sink into a couch with my journal. Yep, that’s what I’m going to do.

      Have a good time. 🙂

      Thanks for the post–you just made my day 🙂

      I’m happy to be of help. 🙂

  5. This might be your best post ever. Not only were your desriptions colorful but i totally understood your connection to them and theirs to the world. This is a post of an accomplished writer. I was in the middle of nowhere one time (Middle of Saranghetti wildlife reserve) and all i could hear was a light wind…the air was clear and light..sun not to harsh and the silence was amazing it was as if there was not life for a million miles…it was amazing……there is a lot to be said for living in the country and the farmlife…you might like that…the ranch is quiet at night….zman sends

    I’d LOVE to live on a farm or ranch (that didn’t need to be worked, of course), Zman! Sounds AWESOME. And I envy you the quiet. Glad you enjoyed the post for a change.

  6. OMG I TOTALLY know what you mean here! I like silence/quiet too…. so so much! 🙂
    I missed you..I am so behind in blog land!

    It’s okay … sounds like you’ve had a rough time lately. I hope everything’s okay.

  7. I need my connection to water be it a river, stream, lake or preferably the ocean. If I don’t get to go and at least sit and stare at the water and enjoy the sounds/smells of the areas mentioned, I will go bonkers. I especially crave the ocean. I grew up in Los Angeles area and lived close to the beach so I went often even in the winter just to sit on the beach, watch the waves come in, smell the salty air and feel the ocean breezes. Nothing better to me in the world or more calming.

    I’ve got salt water in my blood too. My wife and I grew up outside San Francisco, and the ocean never leaves you. I’ve had pathetic apologists for the huge lake we sit near tell me it’s the same thing, but it’s not. The scent is different; the feel is different; the PULSE is different. The ocean’s like a living entity and a lake, no matter HOW big, just isn’t an ocean. It lacks the life, the vibrant awareness, the calming caress. I miss it desperately.

    I was so happy to spend 12 days at the lake and fish. So peaceful and quiet. Now at home? Gotta have noise and that is almost always the TV. I have been that way since I was a child and I was left alone a lot and I wanted the talking that the TV provides. Now that I am stuck at home while Hubby is on the road working, I find myself right back to needing the noise of the TV.

    I’m hurtling the other way. Need the quiet. Long for it. Ache for it. But there is NO getting it around here (meaning my geographical location, not my home specifically). Alas, such is life.

    1. I agree totally that a lake, no matter how large, cannot compare with the ocean. Completely different vibe. You have no clue how powerful the ocean is if you have never sat on the beach or cliffs and watched the waves roar into shore during a storm. The waves on a normal day can hypnotize me after gazing at them for awhile. Last time I was near the ocean was over 2 years ago when we spent a week in Jamaica. So lovely and the water was so warm! I bet my BP was nice and low for that entire week 🙂

      I need an ocean fix since the lakes help but don’t quite cut it.

      Yeah, the lakes help but they’re not … right, somehow. It’s a maritime thing. 🙂

  8. I live out in the middle of nowhere and all I hear is silence. It’s insane noisy where I work, so I do appreciate the quiet when I get home. Everybody should come for a quiet visit to Holly’s farm!

    Oh, Holly, I’m SO there. 😉 Thanks, hon!

  9. ….I really appreciate this post…..i think most of us are unaware of the “Shell Shock” we experience from sensory overload..we are suffering the effects and symptoms from the constant bombardment of noise pollution in our lives…many of us have actually become addicted to noise in a compulsive sort of way..have you ever known someone who will turn on the T.V. and the radio AT THE SAME TIME?..now thats insane when you stop and think about it…we have become noisy people who unconsciously crave constant stimulus…we have forgotten how to savor quiet and how to be still…eventually in desparation we will turn to medications to simulate the forgotten “NORMAL” feeling…then the medicated self becomes the new normal and with it a new “guage” to measure how we feel in a sort of vicious cycle….all the while what we really need is to re-learn how to be quiet and listen to the sound of silence……….”BE STILL AND KNOW”

    AMEN! Be still and know. I’m in agreement with you, Mike; I wonder how many people wouldn’t need medication anymore if we could get ourselves to be be still, and know He is God. And I’m also glad you appreciate the post — because I appreciate the comment! Thank you for coming by, reading and sharing your thoughts. I hope you’ll visit again!

Whatta Ya Think?

