Things Lost, Things Gained

15 thoughts on “Things Lost, Things Gained”

  1. “flyer in hand, her pitch on her lips” – it’s wonderful that she never speaks a word to you and the pitch on her lips is never clarified. I also noticed that you never really described her which works well with the idea of lost opportunities being an unknown. You definetly pulled out a laugh with the final line. Thank you for a fun morning read. I think we all have at least one of these in our past if that makes it any better.

    Thanks, Jayme. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! 🙂

  2. I wish I had the freedom to explore my past this way without you-know-who seeing it as a threat.

    My feelings echo Jaymie’s. Well done.

    Thanks! Did you like the joke part, or did I miss?

  3. Ha! Got me. I wasn’t expecting a blowline at the end of such a romantic story. 🙂 Very sweet, and definitely funny at the end.

    Thank you so much! It’s all true, too … especially the waistline part, unfortunately. *Sigh* 😉

  4. But… but… but… WHAT HAPPENED? Did she die some horrible lonely death or what?

    Oh wait… maybe I totally missed the joke?

    Looks like you did. Now you have to write “I will pay more attention to Knyt’s blog posts” 5000 times on your Blackberry.

  5. What happened..Ill tell you…someone else started hittin it..cause Knyt was wus and didnt step up…..just think of the dude that hit that….oh well….Zman

    Ah, well. Hopefully she reported the abuser to the police and he was arrested, and she lived happily ever after. 😀

  6. Sounds like Garth Brook’s Some of God’s Greatest Gifts are Unanswered Prayers. I got here from Facebook so you are doing something right!

    HA! Got it at last! Thanks for all your help on that, Sara!

  7. I loved your telling of this, especially the end.

    Well, thank you. 🙂

    I miss my waistline too. It was a brief affair but I long for it to this day.

    Yes indeed. It burned brief but hot, that affair with my flat tummy.

    Now, Falcon–your turn 😉

      1. Aww, you’re so sweet. 🙂

        Sadly, I’m the kind of person who still can’t tell a joke without messing up the punchline somehow. So I leave the funny to Darc. 😀

  8. Perhaps she’d be happy to be remembered this way? I think I would.

    Interesting thought. Until you mentioned it, I hadn’t considered it, actually. 🙂

    And I liked the joke. Brought it back to the present and life how it is.

    I appreciate that. Comedy from my brain often doesn’t make others laugh, even if it leaves me in stitches. 🙂

  9. Very well done sir. I really enjoyed it, as always when it comes to your prose you can speak volumes with very brief, well constructed sentences.

    Thanks, Al, I appreciate that! Very kind of you!

    I admit that in my 40’s- despite being very happily married I do sometimes wonder about what might have been.

    To paraphrase Robert Frost- The Boffs Not Taken.

    Ha! I don’t know if that was ever on the table, but at that age, I’m not sure what else I hoped WAS on the table. 🙂

  10. Ahh…and I was eagerly anticipating the “happily ever after ” ending. Always a hopeless romantic !

    I loved the line “Time and circumstance worked like a rip tide to pull us apart”. Lovely.

    Thanks,

    Colleen

    Colleen, thank you so much for coming by and reading my blog. I’m so glad to have your company for a short time. Thank you too for the very kind compliment. I appreciate it. 🙂

  11. Your story leaves me wanting more. What a fascinating read!

    Thank you very much! It’s very flattering coming from you, MASTER of interesting blog posts. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

