The Best of the Lot

10 thoughts on “The Best of the Lot”

  1. Samantha Mathis? THE Samantha Mathis from Pump Up the Volume? The Eat Me Beat Me Lady? Wow. That rocketed Salem’s Lot to the top of my list.

    I can’t tell ya ’bout that stuff. Never heard of her, frankly, but you can IMDB her and see if she’s who you think she is.

    Oh wait, it has vampires and therefore is scary. That’s normally enough to take it off the list, but the Samantha Mathis factor will tip the scales in its favor. Requesting from NetFlix in 3…2…1.

    Speaking of vampires there’s a new (well, new to me) series on HBO called True Blood, which is verrrrrry loosely based on the Sookie Stackhouse novels that KnytStalker – at least I *thought* it was KnytStalker – was trying to get you to read. I’m gonna see if NetFlix has Season 1 as well.

    Yes, I’m familiar with the show AND the books — because of KnytStalker. She’s been trying to get me to read them for years, and claims while it IS a modern take on vampires, many of the standard mythos has been retained. I haven’t gotten to them yet though, and I’ve never seen True Blood.

    Glad to see a remake made you happy instead of bitter, twisted, and supremely pissed off 🙂

    Too late for any movie to do that, sweetie. 😉 It was good; I think you’ll like it. Classic horror done RIGHT.

    ~k

  2. One more thing! This is something I’ve always wondered about this book.

    Is it “Salem’s Lot” like Salem (Say-lehm), Massachusetts or is it “‘Salem’s Lot” like short for Jerusalem (Sah-lem)?

    Inquiring minds want to know!

    Both Salem, MA and THIS Salem (which is in Maine, though it’s imaginary) are pronounced the same way, BUT, my loving wife got me to thinking, and so I researched the name for Salem, MA. What I found is the town’s name means “City of Peace”. Therefore, “Salem” is an anglicized version of “Shalom”, the Hebrew word for “peace”. Interesting, no?

    1. I’ll put in my 2 cents here. I believe it is short for Jerusalem’s Lot but still pronounced say-lem. But then again, I’ve never heard Salem pronounced sah-lem. Where did you hear that?

      You’re right on both counts. Never sah-lem, always SAY-lem.

      1. Perhaps I screwed up the phonetics.. try suh-lem instead. Like, don’t say the Juh-roo part of Jerusalem. Maybe it only sounds that way in my head? 🙂

        It’s still pronounced “Say-lum”, but IS short for “Jerusalem” In the STORY, not in real life.

        I find it amusing this is the bulk of the discussion on this post.

  3. I was afraid to watch this version, thought I might be disappointed. Now it’s back on my list! I grew up reading Stephen King.

    He’s my all-time favorite and my writing hero in a lot of ways. He’s had more influence on my work than any other writer and is the reason I wanted to become one in the first place. 🙂 I think you’ll like it; I wasn’t disappointed, and I’m a hard sell on these things.

  4. I saw the ’79 version and was quite frightened and I vaguely remember trying to watch the Lowe version and not being able to engage. Perhaps I will try again.

    It was hard for me to get past the Rob Lowe-ness of it. Once I did, though, I really enjoyed it. Your mileage, however, may vary. 🙂

  5. I’m partial to Buffy the Vampire Slayer, not so much to the truly scary vamps. Incidentally, I was once mistaken for Molly Ringwald (since you happened to mention her name). I can sort of see the similarity. I’ve also been told I look like Molly Parker. So, maybe I should change my name to Molly.

    Nah, keep your name. It’s gotta be better’n “Molly”. 🙂

  6. I. Don’t. Watch. Vampires.

    That old Salem’s Lot movie traumatized me as a kid. I’m a wimp. But glad you saw something you liked.

    Aw, that’s a shame. With all the yuckization of vampires over the last 30 years or so, it’s been REALLY nice to see some straight-forward, creepy bloodsuckers. But that’s just me. 🙂

  7. I haven’t seen that version but it sounds pretty good. Love Rutger Hauer in stuff like this, thought he was great in Blade Runner too.

    Blade Runner was, perhaps, Rutger’s finest work. AWESOME movie!

    What did you think of the mini series of “The Stand” and did you read both versions of The Stand in novel form? They had the severely edited down version which was still about 750 pages then they released the Stephen King uncut & unedited version that is 1168 pages. I have both and really preferred his edit. Love Stephen King for the most part. I still have a couple of his books to read, but I usually enjoy them.

    Love King. I honestly don’t remember which version of “The Stand” I read, but I caught most of the mini-series on TV. I didn’t like it though. His movies still weren’t translating to the screen well. I think with modern CGI and longer movies being the norm, they’ve got a better chance of handling them now, though.

    Have you read his books, “Danse Macabre” and “On Writing” both non-fiction. They are both really good and I loved his explanation on how/why he writes and the authors that influenced him.

    Yes, I’ve read both. “Danse Macabre” I read more than 20 years ago, though.

    Now “Pet Cemetery” was a scary-as-shit book to me but I threw it across the room when I finished it because I hated the ending but then, I was younger back then.

    Loved “Pet Sematary” — I think it’s one of his best. And the ending was King, all the way. LOTS of folks threw it across the room. 😉

    He has always been a favorite author of mine and I have kept all of his books that I have gotten.

    I think “The Dark Tower” cycle has become my favorite work of his, but I’ve only had issue with a couple of his pieces (endings, mostly). He’s my favorite too. Always has been, since “Carrie”. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

