Breath of Summer

6 thoughts on “Breath of Summer”

  1. I didn’t realize he was from Waukegan. The last thing I read of Bradbury’s was Farenheit 451 a couple of years ago. It was good. 🙂

    I read that one two, but I can’t remember when it was; more recently than SWTWC, actually, now that I think about it, but MAN, I don’t recall when. It was good. His prose is pretty astounding.

  2. Whenever I think of Bradbury, I always think of Ray Harryhausen, Bradbury’s friend who did some special effects on adaptations of his writings. And I love Harryhausen’s style.

    Not familiar with him; which Bradbury movie adaptations did he work on?

    Oh man, now I wanna go to my brother’s place, snag his copy of Clash of the Titans and watch it again. Oh how I love that movie.

    Yeah, you do. It was cool. I remember seeing it back in the 80s and it was awesome.

  3. Knyt

    Not a bradbury fan….but I know he is good read…I dont get it…why you like are the reads that are dark….well hope all is well with you….penelope and i are still putting good thoughts about your job search…zman sends

    Not all of Bradbury’s stuff is dark, Zman. This particular book was filled with warm images and even a smile-inducing story or two; you might like it. 🙂 Thank you on the job search thoughts, both of you. I’m still praying for you too! Have a good one.

  4. Woah, I’ve been re-reading THE OCTOBER COUNTRY.

    It’s like we’re connected man… now let us strip the the waist and frolic through the boysenberry patch!

    Hmm … nah. Let’s drink beer and see who belches more instead.

  5. Other good Bradbury: Dandelion Wine, a sweet but at times scary fictional treatment of… well, if not RB’s childhood in particular, then generally of growing up when he did.

    Also (in a different vein) Zen and the Art of Writing — written maybe 30-35 years ago; his version of what Stephen King did in On Writing, without a lot of the “here is how my personal life illustrates this issue”-type discussion.

    I’ve got to try and find these! The Bradbury selection in my library was … mm … let’s say “pathetic” and leave it at that. 😉 Thanks, JES!

Whatta Ya Think?

