Rumblin’, Bumblin’, Stumblin’

15 thoughts on “Rumblin’, Bumblin’, Stumblin’”

  1. How sweet of you, Knyt. I’m sorry, but my views have stayed pretty steady. I have been getting more than usual hits on the image link to the SuperChipper Girl. But other than that, the same. That was a good experiment, though, and reveals your giving nature. HaHA! You’ve exposed your sweetness!

    Aw, well. What can I do? 😉 But if it’s not working, it’s not that sweet. I just can’t get the thing figured out.

  2. I don’t know where all my recent hits are coming from. I just know that searches for “wonder woman” and “teenage mutant ninja turtles” and “rocket” have greatly increased the views my blog has received in the past week or so. I’m getting more than a hundred hits each day just from those three topics. This month, my blog will have over thousand more hits than any previous month, ever.

    Well, awesome. I know when Falcon gets spikes it’s usually something strange. She gets a lot of hits for GIR from the Invader Zim show, but she hasn’t really blogged about GIR. So you never know. Maybe it’s all women looking for some way to torment you?

    1. Gee willikers, how many freaking hits do you get a month??? Just from complaining about women??

      Oh, what? You don’t think that’s a popular/understandable topic?! 😀

  3. Hmm. I guess the way to correlate this would be via the “referrer” field in the blog stats?

    Well, maybe. I guess if you see a bunch of hits from StumbleUpon that would be clear, but I wondered if they’d show up that way.

    For someone supposedly tech-savvy, I have remained woefully ignorant of stuff like StumbleUpon, Digg, de.li.cio.us (or however it’s spelt)… I still haven’t really figured out Technorati, either. Now it occurs to me that ignorance may have been doing my favorite reads a disservice all this time.

    No worries, I don’t have a great handle on new technology and all this Web 2.0 crap either. And I’ve been in technical support for 13 years.

    Thanks a lot, man. I was just thinking to myself, “Gee, I haven’t taken a good solid guilt trip in months!”. [laughing]

    All expenses paid! 🙂

  4. Nothin’ from Stumble or other things, but I did have a big (well, big for me) day on September 17th… plenty of hits came from alphainventions.com. I haven’t even registered my blog on alphainventions. Weird.

    Alpha picked up my blog and Falcon’s too without us doing anything, before we even knew what it was. It’s fun for a day, but generally doesn’t develop any new readers long-term. For that we go back to the basics: Interesting content, fresh content, answering comments, leaving comments, patience. 🙂

    I’ll let you know of any crazy spikes in traffic. Guess that means I should blog more about meaningful stuff, huh?

    Nope, be yourself. I’m just tryin’ to spread the love in a non-disease-inducing way.

  5. I had a couple of hits from Stumbleupon last week. One day I had higher than average view, but once again, it was my mother trying to see if I wrote anything offensive about her (which of course, I did if you think bright lipstick is offensive). 🙂 Other than that, no, not really–but thank you!

    Well, maybe it’s the thought that counts. 🙂 You’re welcome.

    Okay, back to work. You’re my one indulgence today. 🙂

    Well, thanks D! I’m honored!

  6. Well, assuming I’m included (!) in this, the peaks and valleys of my stats are the same. I’ll have a sharp rise, a drop, ups and downs then a sudden peak again. I’ve never understood, nor have I really taken advantage of these things much. I had a crazy peaks a while back–but nothing like in the Ks. My biggest days are modest (or lame depending on your point of view)–in the low hundreds.

    I have the same peaks/valleys. This week’s been all valleys so far. *Sigh* My topics aren’t as interesting as they were last week I guess.

    Your effort can’t hurt, and maybe the effect takes a while. Thanks (again, assuming I’m in!).

    Yes, you’re in. Relax. I don’t play favorites too much ’round here. I did it for all my regular commenters.

    I think.

    UPDATE: And just to make sure I had you in there, I just did it again! 🙂 Let me know if it works.

  7. I’ve used Stumble some and wondered the same thing. Haven’t ever seen it on my stats page though.

    When I saw it on my stats, it had about six referrals. That’s it. Nothing like Fal’s 3600. Oh well. The Internets, she is fickle. 🙂

  8. I have not seen stumbleupon on the stats page either, however between 9/14 and today I’ve gone from 81 to 594 on 9/20 to 21 today per 24 hr time frame. Go figure. Now my Cousin Alex who is one my sidebar and has both http://www.alexzola.com and a site on opensalon.com said to go to problogger.com and read everything when I got back to town. Take a look. You are both brilliant writers. And Alex writes about Detroit the way you do about Chicago. You guys should talk to each other.

    I can’t remember if I was following ProBlogger or not. I’ll have to check them out again. I know there’s a lot of information on marketing and content there, and some stuff on SEO, but for us who do not own our own domains, a lot of what they recommend is impossible. Or expensive, and I can’t afford that either. But I’ll give PB another look and see what’s up.

  9. My readership is staying strong at 3. Thanks for the effort though!

    No problem, but … I know for a fact you have more than three readers.

    I have the stumbleupon icon on my site, but I’m not sure how it works either. Maybe it’s sending interested readers somewhere else. (gasp)

    Well, it sends them to StumbleUpon’s page so they can recommend your article or entry. But that’s the idea; then the rest of Stumble’s members should get a look at your work and away you go (theoretically).

  10. I take back my previous statement. I checked with site meter rather than my site map and I’ve had about 40 new visitors this week. Thanks for the thumbs up!

    Site maps and visitor maps are horribly unreliable. SiteMeter is too confusing for me, but I’m okay with WordPress’s utilities. Blogger didn’t have them, which is one reason I didn’t stay there.

  11. My stats went really low (for me anyway) since I was gone for vacation and didn’t do any posts that would be automatically posted while I was gone. I thought about doing some but just got lazy with the baby shower and trip coming and didn’t do it though I should have.

    Hopefully the stats and hits will go back up a bit since I’m back….well maybe if I’m really lucky. 🙂

    Oh, I’m sure they will. Your regulars will see you posting and the traffic will go right back to where it was. 🙂 Welcome home, btw.

  12. Wow, I have never even known about this little trick. I mean I have seen it before, but hadn’t invested the time to figure it out..it sounds cool, guess I should look into it!

    Definitely! You can bring some traffic to yourself and your friends.

Whatta Ya Think?

