Out of Excuses

8 thoughts on “Out of Excuses”

  1. Here’s the Duotrope listing for Absent Willow: http://duotrope.com/market_3230.aspx It says they pay occasionally up to semi-pro. What drew you to this publication?

    Nothing yet. I just found them a while back when I was looking for places to publish. But if this isn’t a good cred, fagedaboutit … I’ll keep looking. I know you sent me a link to a place which does shorts, but I have to check and see what the turn-around time is (that was another draw to this site, turn-around time).

    I’ve been going through an antsy period myself, and as with yours, it’s a bit creepy.

    Yeah, it is. But I used it to my advantage (the creepiness) when I started writing Sunday night. 😉

    1. There’s no reason you can’t sub to this mag, I just wondered how you found them. Duotrope is always the first place I go, because of the search and sorting options. You can sort by highest acceptance or fastest response.

      Do you think it’s okay? Even though they’re paying sub-pro rates? Hm. I read some of the fiction there; seems pretty decent. I thought it would be a cred, y’know?

      I really gotta get busy and use Duotrope more often. I think I want to search by genre, then fastest responses, then highest pay. PAY ME!! PAY MEEEEEE!!!!

  2. I had an edgy, antsy, angsty weekend myself. I’m not sure why but am sure glad it is a new week! I’m going with you finished the story.

    You’re right, I did finish it. It wasn’t long enough to continue excusing myself. I buckled down and did it. 🙂

  3. I sat around and stared at my wood stove when I wasn’t working for less than minimum wage.

    I’m not sure, given the weather you’re having, I would’ve done anything different. I feel for ya.

  4. 2 sick kids=no fun weekend (as if it would be so exciting anyway;)
    I knew you finished the story. Keep us posted on the pub front.

    Aw, sorry ’bout the kids, D. I’ll be sure to let you know if/when I sub. 🙂

  5. The weekend was good. Now the husband has left for Portugal for 8 days and it is just the kiddo and me. Don’t know if I’ll have any energy left over for anything.

    But it is okay to have blase spells. Like the good-writing-moment spells, they also pass.

    I know they pass, but they stink while we’re in ’em. I’ve … sorta learned to deal with them, but I never like them.

  6. I’m going through that blase, ho-hum phase right now. Can’t seem to manage to blog, can’t get ambitious enough to do some much needed rearranging of my clothing getting ready for winter, etc.

    It’s the winter doldrums setting in early, I suppose.

    We went to KC, MO again and saw our pregnant (and now – finally! looks like she is) and our SIL who is usually traveling for his work. That was a nice change. She was having another baby shower. I swear this baby will have just about anything and everything she could possibly need. That’s a good thing though since the kids won’t have to buy much of anything.

    Always a plus, that’s for sure! 🙂

    Ate at Joe’s Crab Shack again so all-in-all it wasn’t too bad of a weekend.

    Not bad at ALL. Love the ‘Shack when I can afford it … which is almost never.

Whatta Ya Think?

