It’s Not YOU, It’s ME

9 thoughts on “It’s Not YOU, It’s ME”

  1. I’m not going to say awh sucks, I’m sorry. I’m not, I’m proud of you! They weren’t worthy of your stories or able to produce it properly for the greatest audience. Read this and remember Colonel Sanders started the franchise at 65 with his $150 Social Security check. I have heard this story so many times and finally found it. Just another little hill to get to the top of the mountain.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colonel_sanders

    Thanks, Sara! The Colonel’s a hero for me for sure … mmm, KFC … And thanks for the vote of confidence. I’m sure I’ll get there someday. I just have to play the numbers game. 🙂

  2. Many a great author has papered their walls with rejection slips and have used them to spur themselves on to bigger and better things.

    To quote from Wikipedia on Stephen King:

    While browsing through an attic with his elder brother, King uncovered a paperback version of an H. P. Lovecraft collection of short stories that had belonged to his father. The cover art—an illustration of a monster hiding within the recesses of a hell-like cavern beneath a tombstone—was, he writes,

    “the moment of my life when the dowsing rod suddenly went down hard … as far as I was concerned, I was on my way.”

    You will have your moment as well, wait and see. 🙂

    Thanks, Delaney! Yep, Steve got a butt-load of rejection slips before he got an acceptance letter. He started much younger too, but that’s my bad. I’ll have enough of them soon, I’m sure. 🙂

  3. Just a reminder: it’s not always about quality with a publisher. It’s often about the “style” of the periodical. Your story may well fit in the style/voice of another publication. That doesn’t mean it’s second tier.

    Keep up the efforts.

    Thanks, Bryce. Yeah, Sherri said the same thing about the magazine’s voice. I only read a couple of their pieces, but thought mine was a match … else I’d not have wasted their time. Nevertheless, there are others. 🙂

  4. How long do I have to wait before this is funny and I can make jokes? I don’t do “cheer up buddy, you’ll make it” very well.

    I’m not bummed out and sad, dude — joke away! I’m ready to laugh. 😉

  5. Sounds like you’re taking it well. The best thing is when it doesn’t hurt as bad as you thought it would. Good for you! Chin up, keep on truckin’, and all that.

    No, it didn’t even come CLOSE to hurting like I imagined. Maybe that’s why it didn’t? But I do feel I’m taking it well, and thanks! I appreciate the support.

  6. Keep plugging away and don’t let the bastards get you down…

    No worries, Al, I’m not down at al. It was a good experience to have that first rejection out of the way.

    Why don’t you try to submit a fridayflash fiction like I do?

    To whom?

  7. There are many reasons you get rejected. Could be style. Could be that the editor (or whoever does the reading of submissions) had an ex with your name. Maybe the editor had heartburn. Maybe they just happened to accept a story similar to yours the day before and didn’t want another on. Maybe you made some random, rare error that is on the editor’s list of pet peeves. Maybe the editor really needs a story on whatever your story is not. Maybe there were a group of readers and there was a power struggle over whose favorite submission gets in. Maybe the editor was out of coffee and cranky. I once heard an agent say that she wouldn’t accept anything by a writer who ended a cover letter with “Thank you for your time.” You will never know why you get rejected (this one or another), but one day, the coffee, the heartburn, the power struggle, the pet peeves, the whole lot will work in your favor.

    Keep plugging.

    Will do. Thanks. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

