So, Time for … the DISH

13 thoughts on “So, Time for … the DISH”

  1. That is awesome! Good for JES (who is extra awesome) and good for you. Special kudos in your beloved for living up to the title and knowing you could do it. All around great. I hope this leads to other things.

    Yeah, JES is made of awesome and I’m grateful. 🙂

  2. The benefit of this above money, IMO, is what Marta said: it could lead to other things. It also showed you that you can do these things, and you might be less nervous accepting the next offer. Proud of you, buddy. You’re awesome.

    Thanks. At this point I do not expect to work further with this publisher, but maybe with this agent. We’ll see. 🙂

  3. Has the contact talked about any other future books they might want you to write?

    No they sure haven’t Bob. I don’t expect them to offer me anything further, however.

  4. Great job on pushing your boundaries. I’m sure you wouldn’t want to write only technical manuals the rest of your life, but a job’s a job. I hope it leads to more.

    Thanks, Linda. To be honest, it didn’t push my boundaries (except time), which is why I was so concerned about it. 🙂

  5. What they all said about the project. You know I’m hugely ambivalent about tech writing. But who can argue with writing for money?!? 🙂 And I hope at the very least it gave you good things to look forward to waking up to, eh?

    A job’s a job, no doubt. This one didn’t pay as well as it might, but I don’t argue with dollars. 🙂

    SO happy this has worked out for you. May it lead to even better things!

    Thank you for your part in all of this, JES. Couldn’t have done it without you — literally. 🙂

  6. Oh my gosh that is FABULOUS!!!!!!! I am so excited for you! I have been dying to know about SSRLP–you actually got me to take a break from work to see what this is all about. So super psyched!!! Congratulations!
    *high five*
    *fist thump*
    ***huge GRIN***

    Thanks, D! Not as big a deal as it sounds, to be sure, but I appreciate the support and enthusiasm. 🙂

  7. That is so cool! As I said before, maybe the SSRLP is a job…maybe more of this stuff will come your way. I knew a couple who bought their house by indexing books. Granted, they had real jobs and indexing books may not be the most exciting way to earn a living, but there are worse things.

    Well, I’m not confident more will come, but that’s fine. This was helpful when it rolled around. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement.

  8. That’s pretty cool. Congrats on the project.

    Thanks, Bryce. Today’s post should clear up any delusions of how awesome it is, though. 😉

  9. Sounds cool. At least you got to write something and it will be published. Sounds like I winner to me!

    Oh, don’t know if it’s a winner or not, Delaney, but a job’s a job, right? Even if it’s short term as all get-out.

    Glad to see you back, I’ve missed you.

    I miss you all too, but I can’t say I’m “back” — not all the way — yet.

  10. VERY Cool! A paid writing gig is a good writing gig. 🙂

    Oh, I don’t know. See my last post for more about how that worked out. It’s not all it’s cracked up to be.

Whatta Ya Think?

