Taking Inventory

6 thoughts on “Taking Inventory”

  1. Dude, you need some games. Get NetHack. It’s a free game but it’s the best game.

    I don’t know … an online game? I think you discussed those yesterday on your blog. I thought we agreed they suck.

  2. Dang, that’s a lot of software. I would like to have the new version of Word, or maybe 2007. I have 2003. I also have Corel Word Perfect, and I like it a tad bit better than Word, but since Word is the standard, that’s what I use. You’re right about Open Office. That sucker is SLOW.

    OpenOffice is a freakin’ CHORE just to launch, never mind write in. I’ve never been able to get past that. You can download betas of the new Word from Microsoft; they’re all good with that. It will expire, but you can at least play with it before you decide if you want to drop a few C-notes on it. I LOVE it, but 2007’s pretty neat too.

    I too wish yWriter had the ability to make scenes without chapters. What I ended up doing was just to use a chapter per scene, knowing I’d be doing the finishing work in Word. It was quite unwieldy, though, and I don’t think I’ll be doing that again.

    I did something similar when I tried to use it; but I had no idea how to write in scenes then. Now that I do, and there are instructions for using Liquid Story Binder that way, I’m going to try that. LSB lets me use Word as the editor. Much more fun than using the editor which comes with them.

    Talking to my brother last night, I finally realized what kind of writer I am. Maybe that knowledge will help me choose the right program for me. I’m like you in that I’d like something aesthetically more pleasing than the freeware that’s out there now. I’d also like the program to be flexible enough to tailor it to my outline style.

    Hope you share what kind of writer you are when you’re ready, I’m interested to hear. And the freeware out there doesn’t really fit us all the way, does it? But LSB is VERY powerful and flexible; it can be used for 30 days for free, no limitations, and the download is small. You should check it out and see if it’s to your liking. A LOT cheaper than Word, great outlining/sequencing tools, and even a place for a music playlist to set the writing mood. 🙂

    1. Every time you mention a program I’ll go try it out, so I’m sure I tried LSB. I can’t remember what put me off, but for some reason it didn’t catch on with me. May have been the price tag for the full program, I can’t remember.

      Maybe; it’s like $46. And there’s a lot to it, but once you get used to the interface, it’s teh awesome.

  3. Wow, I guess I’m too simple. I don’t do choosing well, so I would never allow myself that many choices. I have yWriter, but never really used it because I’m not sure I understand the advantages to using a program like that.

    I use Word for everything. I just make a folder for each novel project and create separate files for scene lists, character studies, notes, etc. I type my novel as one big file. If need be, I’ll cut and paste each chapter to its own file.

    Plenty of writers say to do it just that way, Linda. Maybe I’m not simple enough? 🙂

  4. LOL, I’m a big fan of paper. I use whatever is easily at hand and opens quickly before the ideas flee. 🙂

    I have to do that too. I use whatever I can most quickly reach to get the raw idea out of my head, then I hone it using a variety of methods. Now, all I have to do is write … 😉

Whatta Ya Think?

