Case of the SHIVERS

12 thoughts on “Case of the SHIVERS”

  1. Only book I read lately was The Complete Far Side by Gary Larson.

    Oh yeah. LOVE the Larson collections, and the Calvin and Hobbes collections too. AWESOME.

  2. Thanks for this excellent reference. Summers I don’t read as much (garden added to house duties) although when I do It is either historical fiction, history or biography. It’s good to have insight into something current.

    My pleasure; I snatched it off the “New Fiction” shelf at my local (podunk) library and it’s a good one. What luck, huh?

    I tend to re-read classics. I love having the Guttenberg Project around. Got into Gulliver’s Travels the other night while researching a post. I also LOVE Twain. We’re looking for the same things in different centuries. I just love coming here.

    Nothing wrong with classics; I doubt Mr. Shivers is literary enough for the literati to make it a classic, but it’s very good, and you never know when you’ll stumble across the next J. D. Salinger or John Knowles or John Updike, y’know?

    1. I mentioned the classics almost sheepishly because it indicates perhaps my generation although I did read the moderns of my era and back to the 1920’s. I processed the papers for the premiere Little Magazine, The Dial. But I know that art has to go on and I don’t want to be left out. There will indeed be another author – perhaps one who approximates Twain.

      Oh, don’t be sheepish ’round here about classics, dear. I love them. I have myself consumed, at various points in my life, Dickens, Melville, Austen, Conan-Doyle, Wells (H. G., not Orson), Orwell, Rand, Tolstoy, Hemingway, and Hawthorne. I loved them all at the time. 🙂

      OH, and that Clemens fella you mentioned before. 😉

  3. I just finished ready Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar”. That one gave me shivers, but in a different way. Less horrible, more soul-suckingly grim. And yet, extremely well-written.

    Ah, The Bell Jar! It’s been a long, long time. I’ll have to try and find that one. Thanks! Heh!

  4. Sounds like one to try out since I like those type of books. Right now I have a stack of about 6 books from Jonathan Kellerman and Dean Koontz that I got for a steal at B&N and off of bookmooch.com so I am in heaven right now since I love both authors.

    I’ve never heard of Kellerman, Delaney. Does he write horror too? I’ll have to look for some of his books at the library. Thanks! And yes, I think you’ll like it. 🙂

    1. Kellerman writes a series of “Alex Delaware” books that is about a shrink that works with the police to solve cases. I got hooked on these years ago.

      Awesome. Now I can look for him at the library. Thanks!

  5. I loved loved loved Mr. Shivers. I picked it up for Ben and when he was done reading it he passed it over to me and said, “You need to read this.” It’s the type of book where I ask myself, ‘Why am I reading this?’ because I didn’t get it at first, but I ended up loving it at the end.

    It’s a very good book with a lot of rich detail. Nothing classless about it, I thought. Just good solid writing.

    I got the impression that it was during the Dust Bowl / Depression era but I could be wrong. I think this was a listing on the Columbus Library’s monthly Horror newsletter; is that where you found it? Want me to keep sending them? I find the best books from those recommendations.

    I found it on the “New Fiction” shelf at the local library here. I don’t think the monthly newsletter helps too much, but thanks. 🙂

    Hope all is going well with you. I’m impressed that this book moved you enough to contemplate an Amazon review.

    We’re doing the best we can, thanks! Hope you and the family are well too. 🙂

  6. Doesn’t really sound like my kind of book. And remember, plenty of books we think of as classics, were not accepted by the so-called literati of their day. How many of those accepted books do we even know of now? Very, very few.

    But. That’s nothing. I’m watching this documentary about script writers and I thought of you because you do the movie reviews, and well, it is interesting. To me anyway. The film is called “Tales from the Script.”

    http://www.talesfromthescript.com/

    If you get a chance and it sparks any interest at all, let me know what you think!

    Thank you! I’ll be sure to do that. 🙂

  7. I haven’t been reading lately. I’ve been watching Netflix instant stuff on my Roku. Sometimes I wish I never bought the stupid thing, but most of the time I want to fall on my knees and worship before it. That’s what I get for having a short attention span.

    Instant can be awesome. I must find one of these Roku somewhere so I can steal it … I mean, get it on discount.

  8. Well right now I’m not thinking about reading any book because have just got over with my exams , so no more books at least for the next couple of days ! Well yeah I love fiction . It’s I guess my first visit on your blog, I’m loving it!

    Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you enjoyed what you found. 🙂

    [Sorry, but the link asks people to sign up to get their results; we don’t care for that ’round these parts, so I removed the link. But thank you for coming by and sharing your thoughts. 🙂 ]

  9. I’ll write it down, sounds good. I need something new to read, it’s been weeks. Mind you, haven’t had the time lately, either.

    It IS good, you’ll like it. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

