A Little More Good News

13 thoughts on “A Little More Good News”

  1. This author lifestyle sounds pretty sweet. I’m totally down with chillin’ in my jammies all day!

    Pshaw. Jammies are for WRITERS. Strictly amateur-hour stuff. AUTHORS sit around in their UNDERWEAR, baby. UNDERWEAR. And we SCRATCH what ITCHES, yo. If there’s a velour Turkish bathrobe involved, great, but if not? UNDIES.

    Congrats on the new gig, I hope everything goes smoothly for you! 🙂

    Thanks sweetie! Lord knows, I do too! 😉

  2. Coffee??? That’s what you’re doing wrong. Well, if wrong is writing non-fiction. You’re drinking a functional beverage and thus, you’re writing a functional book. Put down the coffee and get yourself a bottle of whiskey. An dysfunctional beverage for dysfunctional, hint hint, fiction writing.

    Well, why didn’t you tell me this LAST time?! Dammit!

    Wasn’t Hemingway a drinker? Wasn’t Dylan Thomas?

    Dunno ’bout Thomas. I think Hemmy tried pretty much everything, didn’t he?

    Okay, Stephen King wasn’t much of a drinker, he just feasted on the souls of the living, but still, it’s better than coffee if you’re goal is to write fiction.

    Oh no, King was a booze-hound from hell. A slush. Alkie big-time. He’s cleaned up NOW, but it’s because he was so far gone before.

    So, put down the coffee and pick up the bottle.

    If I’d only know this earlier …

  3. Truly good news man! I am sure there will be time for other projects later on.

    Thanks, Bob! It’s pretty exciting. I’ll have more details for y’all on Friday. 🙂

  4. Right on. Maybe you can still sneak some dasterdly goings on into the non-fiction.

    Hey, now THERE’S an idea! Evil, sinister plots laced through a non-fiction book. Niiiice. 🙂

  5. Yeah for good news! Coffee and lying around in your underwear 4 teh win! Grats on your non-fiction deal and I hope you’ll have the time and opportunity to also work on your fiction project/s/ 🙂

    Thanks, Kimberly! And laying around in underwear IS win, for sure. 😉

  6. Only thing wrong with this is your modesty: as I understand it, you actually had your choice of books to write. That says a lot more to me about how good this news might be!

    As you know, I’m with you all the way re: writing tech vs. writing fiction. But yes, this is almost — ALMOST — a good time not to have a job. 🙂

    Oh, I don’t think the choices were as plentiful as they appeared. It got pared down to this one pretty quickly. But thanks for the vote of confidence, JES! I’m honored and priviledged to have a person of your experience and wisdom in this area behind me, and I treasure that. Thank you. 🙂

  7. At least you are in the ballpark of what you want to do. Writing is writing, you have to think about what to write and have it all make sense so you are a writer with hopefully the next step being an “author” and more pleasurable writing. At least it is what you love to do.

    Congrats dude!

    Thanks, Delaney! That’s really sweet of you! I’m glad to know my friends are so supportive. It’s a lot less scary that way. Hope your husband is doing better, too; still praying for you guys.

  8. You have written a book. You are writing another book. That is grand. Sure, I understand it isn’t the book you want to publish one day, but you’re not going to reach that day until you get through all these days in between.

    Congrats and good luck!

    Good points, Marta. And as I see it, a publishing cred is a publishing cred, and in the end I have fun doing them. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

  9. I’m happy you will be applying your writing skills somewhere. You have to be creative to take on the whole mantle of tech talk.

    Oh, these books are particularly devoid, deliberately, of tech-talk and include glossary entries to demystify the lingo. I think it works for me because I’ve been translating technical language to lay terms for 15 years. I also LOOOVE to write. This way, I do both. How much happier can I be without telling people stories for which they pay? 🙂

    I am still standing to type. Will enter physio therapy soon. Still pain but love your visits.

    I’m sorry to hear that. I’ll keep you in prayer, SH. 😦

  10. This is great news! I know it isn’t exactly what you want, but getting published is better than a poke in the eye.

    Yes, indeed. And since when do I ever get what I want anyway? 😉

Whatta Ya Think?

