Monday Meh

12 thoughts on “Monday Meh”

  1. I know so many people who tout the benefits of yoga. Though not something that incapacitates me, I, too suffer from bouts of lower back pain. Not recently, though I think I’ll try yoga anyway.

    I figure it can’t hurt, and no one’s going to see my manatee butt trying to do it, so no need to be embarrassed.

    Sugar. That’s a big culprit in diets. And it is everywhere. Even in “health” foods. I know someone who kept her sugar intake to no more than 15grams and started losing weight right away.

    It’s amazing how many “health foods” have hidden sugars. People have been trained to believe “low fat” is the way to go for more than 30 years now, and it’s worse for you than living on cookies. LOADS of sugar in “low fat” items. They seem less prominent in the grocery stores now; maybe that fallacy’s been exposed at last.

    Good luck and hope you get the green light!

    Thank you! And thanks for stopping by to share!

  2. I too cut my sugar when I’m ready to lose weight, and you wouldn’t believe how fast those first few pounds melt off, and how fast I feel better. The problem for me is upkeep, because I really hate to cook, and the convenience foods are full of sugar, even dishes that aren’t sweet.

    Sugars — and for me, carbohydrates in general — are really pound-packing. It’s pretty incredible the amount of BS people believe about them; if you want to lose weight, though, cut ’em. Cut ’em deep and it will start coming off.

    Also, yoga is da bomb! I hate to exercise, but yoga really feels good. I can go at my own pace, and the stretching keeps my joint and back pain to a minimum. Sitting a lot seems to make my back pain worse.

    It’s probably some of my problem too, but the truth is, sitting and laying down are all I can do to ease the pain. Standing and walking exacerbate it, so … 😦

    Glad you’re making progress on the slurp.

    Wish I could be glad too. It’s much slower than I need it to be. But thank you. 🙂

  3. Most back pain *will* correct itself given time. I don’t know overall whether “once back pain, always back pain” is correct, but I have a lot of joint pain issues. My back is just another big joint that has pain that needs to be managed. Some yoga poses have helped me, but strangely, so has jogging. Impact isn’t necessarily bad for joints.

    The Mayo Clinic doctors I watched basically washed their hands of being held responsible for treating it. I was more than a little disappointed.

    I’ve noticed that I can’t eat anything fried from fast food places. It all tastes bitter to me. My parents had KFC last night and the breading was just nasty.

    My wife had other problems from the oil used to cook fries and potato chips. We’re on the lookout for them now. 🙂

    Yay football season!

    Woo!

    And thank you for stopping by! So nice to see you!

  4. Regarding the back pain I can honestly say that seeing a massage therapist, particularly someone who does cranio-sacral work, is EXTREMELY beneficial. I get it every now and again (this last time it was all nerve, an acting up of a disc injury YEARS ago) and my mother in law helped tremendously as she does all of the above. Incredible. Most low back pain is attributed to postural stuff as a result of sitting too long and too frequently. Yoga is also awesome. Just don’t do pilates. You have a back problem pilates will only make it worse.

    I just watched a back pain video from the Mayo Clinic and they say the exact opposite regarding Pilates. Hehehe. Everyone’s different, though; what works for one doesn’t work for everyone. Me, I just need to exercise. Some type, ANY type will do. I’d love to jog but I’m WAAAAAAY too fat.

    Good luck with your project and your healthy endeavors. Know your good sugars and your bad sugars. Just about all prepared foods have high fructose corn syrup (even sweet relish and baked beans – really) so cutting that out of your diet is a great place to start. If you really want that jolt of soda there’s Mexican Coke now being sold in the US and it has REAL sugar as opposed to HFCS and it’s sooo much better tasting. Also smaller servings and pricey enough to encourage self rationing and having the stuff as a treat instead of a staple.

    We expect a bump in grocery bills, but a drop off in overall expenses for food. We’ll see how that goes. And yes, the introduction of HFCS into the US diet corresponds exactly, with about a two year lag, to the obesity level rise. Funny coincidence. (Not.) So it’s going for me too. We’re actually Pepsi fans, so Throwback Pepsi (in the old logo and colors from the 1970s!) is what we’re drinking, but only in severe moderation. Otherwise it’s water, or diet pop. 🙂

  5. You go boy!!! Sounds like some exciting stuff on the horizon. That’s great. Yeah, fast food is something that I gave up a few years ago, except for the odd french fry, and I can’t say I miss it a whole lot. Good luck to ya!

    I hope we won’t miss it either, V. R., and thanks! Yes, there seems to be much happening. Hopefully it’s all good. 🙂

  6. I have the back pain issue as well since I got my back fractured when I was 21, so I have lived with it for quite some time. Yes, learn to live with it and working out is the common answer and unfortunately, is oh so true. From one Manatee to another, I feel your pain and know how hard to exercise correctly it is.

    It IS a bear to break inertia, isn’t it? Hope you’re doing okay, Delaney and thanks for being encouraging. 🙂

  7. I’ve done all the bad back things and, well, lying flat is good, stretch exercises are good and losing weight are all good. I’m good at the first two.

    Glad you are progressing on the contract but are also still e-publishing.

    Busy week with x-rays and further investigations. Ah, the human state of affairs. My prayers are always with you and I leave you this thoughtful hymn:

    Thank you so much, SH. We’ll take all the prayers we can get. We pray for you often too. 🙂 I haven’t yet decided if I’m finished altogether with the traditional publishing route, but I’m very close I think. If I can find a way to market my books so they’re worth publishing only on Amazon as for J. A. Konrath, I’m there.

  8. I know my back wouldn’t hurt nearly as much if it didn’t have to pack my enormous gut around. I keep saying this, but I really need to get off my ass and do something about it. I played Dance Dance Revolution the other night and it was so much fun, I think I could be motivated to do it more often. There is a workout mode for it and I want to give that a try.

    I know hat you mean on the gut thing. It’s like having an extra 80 or 100 lbs strapped to my front with which I’m bending, twisting and heaving around like… well, like a manatee out of water. I feel like a f**king sea lion on the beach sometimes.

  9. Slowly, I’m coming to realize just how many people have back pain issues, including myself. Yoga is not something I’ve ever thought of trying though. Funny comment there about bones shattering and what not, and good going on leaving junk food behind. Hope you’re still wrapping your lips around the healthy stuff.

    Ha! Careful, Joy! That could be construed in a lewd way. 😉 Yes, I’m still trying to eat more healthy, and my wife is still trying to gain weight apparently. She made banana bread last night. (Yum!) 😉

    Here’s hoping the book writing is going along well. I’ve finally got a break from all the editing!

    Well, congrats and thank you! What’s the next step for you? submission? self-publishing? If you’re self-publishing, check out my friend Bryce’s self-publishing blog. Bet he’d love to hear from you. 🙂

  10. Excellent news all around 🙂 How is the yoga going? How is the diet/giving up fast food going? Still loving salads? How is the back pain?

    Yoga’s excellent! I could watch it all day. Very soothing. I’m not DOING it of course, that would mean exercise, but I watch it whenever I can! Salads rock, always have; fast food’s easy to do without when you’re broke and fat; and my back pain’s gettin’ better! 🙂

    My back has been bugging me over the last few weeks, and I’m told I have at least six more months before I can even dream of it going away. My buddha belly doesn’t help it’s case any though. I loved doing yoga, it was nice and peaceful, as for losing weight, I didn’t lose any while doing yoga, but I noticed a huge jump in my energy levels. Speaking of which, I think I’ll get back at it. Since we’ve moved I’m not going to be working as much, so I need something to keep me going.

    I have a Yoga for Weight Loss routine from a couple of different DVDs. Very cool. Don’t know if it’d work or not though.

    And, as silly as it is, I gave into a TV promotion last month. I bought a Magic Bullet (the mini food blender, not the sex toy) and it’s amazing! Every morning, we each have a smoothie before we start the day, and sometimes another in the evening. Occasionally, we struggle to get enough fruits/veggies in each day, so drinking 2-3 servings at once is easier for us, and it’s a great way to start the day. This morning I had one with banana, peaches, strawberries, mango, orange juice, and a bit of yogurt… and if you need it sweetened, a dollop of honey does the trick! 🙂

    “…not the sex toy…” Aw, boring. But hey, the mini-blenders ROCK! We have them too. Let us know if you use yours more than twice a year after you’ve had it for about three months. 😉

Whatta Ya Think?

