Friday and Saturday Shoe Drop

12 thoughts on “Friday and Saturday Shoe Drop”

  1. It’s been a crazy couple of weeks for everybody, so I don’t think it’s the other shoe. Don’t self destruct, nothing has happened that isn’t fixable. You’ve gained a lot of momentum over the past few months.

    I think that’s what makes it feel so much like the other shoe. 😦

    I don’t think you really believe we don’t care. At least, I hope not.

    I don’t mean you don’t care because you don’t… well, CARE. I just mean, you have your own stuff. I mean, you all DO have your own lives. And I not only respect that, but wish to honor it. 🙂

  2. What Sherri said. It’s just the universe’s way of balancing things out. A spectacularly clunky, cruel way, true — but you don’t have a target on your head. 🙂

    Someone’s been dropping a brick on it from space like I do for decades. 😉

    Maybe the red stuff is brake or power-steering fluid. Or cherry soda, ha.

    I don’t think the PS fluid is red; I think it’s kinda urine-y yellow. But it could be the brakes. YAY. Leaking brakes. 😦

  3. Hang in there, Darc, I’m sure it’ll get better soon. I’ll keep my fingers crossed just in case.

    Aw, thank you sweetie. You’re a doll. 🙂

    For the work stuff, it’s all just a test. You can handle it, just do one thing at a time. I know, easier said than done…

    I’m tryin’. Really, I am. I just can’t ever seem to accomplish what they’re asking. 😦

    As far as the fluid, I recently learned that my coolant isn’t green like it used to be, but a kind of pale orange. I know this because I’ve had to replace both the radiator and the water pump in the past month. Wouldn’t be good, but better than a transmission.

    Well, and because it’s only a few drops of fluid, it might just be a matter of putting fluid in it once in a while. Some cars need oil occasionally, some need coolant, this one may just need transmission fluid once in a while. It’s not a puddle, far as I can see. But I’ll keep an eye on it anyway. I’m sorry to hear about your car issues though. That… yeah. I get it. Thanks for the chin-up, too. 🙂

  4. Things go great then reality has to step in and keep it real, annoying and scary. Take a deep breath and relax.

    I’m tryin’, Delaney, but we lived like whipped dogs so many years, we duck and cover first and check to see what’s happening later. Will be a while before we don’t do that, I suppose.

    On the exercise, I got DVD sets to work out to and couldn’t believe how out of shape I am so go slow and don’t expect miracles in the beginning. Just hang in there and stick with it, it will get easier.

    Thanks! I need to hear from someone else doing it. Which ones are you doing? Good luck! It IS hard, but we can do it!

    1. I got Zumba for Christmas which is a very fast paced Latin themed workout which I need to work up to so I bought “Sweating to the Oldies” since it was intended for fat people and I have had to work on that one song at a time until I can workout for longer periods of time.

      Boy, me too! I had to quit doing my workout with these edits but when I get rolling again, it’s going to be painful and embarrassing. 🙂

  5. Yeah, it’s tough when a whole bunch of things go wrong at once. I know the feeling. Fortunately, what tends to happen is that some of the things resolve themselves with less effort than you were expecting, and the others, well, you just tackle them one step at a time until, soon enough, everything is fixed and fine. You’ll get through this!

    Thanks, Spark. You’ve been a beacon of reason in an emotional storm for me, especially where the work stuff is concerned. I really appreciate it.

  6. Wow. You’ve got a lot goin’ on. Stay positive.

    The Lord is my strength and shield, CV. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

    I hate that some dufus changed your book up like that, especially by adding superfluous junk? What is that??? And the whole internet Explorer thing? What? Sounds like an inept person to me, who’s going by the grammar suggestions in microsoft word (lc intentionally). I’d be steamed too. Hopefully, the EIC will see things your way.

    Well, actually, I didn’t have to take it to the EiC. I took it to the project manager/editor gal, and she apologized and promised to try and make it right. Her only caveat was she couldn’t get me new proofs in time without breaking the budget, so I have to keep working with what I have. Here’s hoping.

  7. Ugh. I hate it when they get out the ugly AND the stupid sticks.

    Not just the ugly and stupid sticks, but someone wailed on me with a FAT stick too. WAILED I say.

    I did a non-fiction piece for an historical anthology once and the “editor” made such a mess out of it I refused to let them use it.

    Too late for that. I signed the contract giving them the copyright. *Sigh*

    Chin up! These are just minor setbacks.

    I hope so. I really do.

  8. I know the feeling. Been beat a couple times in the last week by those sticks, too. They seem to be on a rampage.

    The evil, marching sticks with rubber pants of doom.

    Sucks they made so many unnecessary edits. 😦 Sorry to hear they’ve caused so much work for you.

    It’s bizarre. I’ve never seen such an intrusive edit in my life. Okay, once… When I did it. Heh.

    Cars are the devil.

    Horses are worse yet. They think for themselves.

    Things will get better though. They always do.

    Thanks sweetie. I hope you’re doing great with baby on the way. Tick-tock, tick-tock!

    1. Rubber pants of doom!!!

      It’s got chicken legs…

      Horses are evil. Period.

      Oh, they are. They surely are. They’re filthy!

      My car is at least practical, a horse, is not.

      My car’s not practical either, and when I get mad I can shoot the horse. 😦 😉

Whatta Ya Think?

