What are you writing for?

5 thoughts on “What are you writing for?”

  1. Good post, and you’re right, there is a difference. The publishing industry is evolving just like the music industry did with the advent of mp3s. The good news, and yes, there is good news, is that people are still reading. Whether it’s e-books or paperbacks, people are still reading.

    Yep, and readers want books, and I aim to give ’em books. 🙂

    It’s up to writers, yes, unfortunately much of this falls on our backs, to not only write brilliantly, but to be business people as well. We can’t necessarily rely on somebody else for all of the business-ish stuff that goes along with our creative endeavors…IF you want to get published.

    Well, I think I’ll address writing “brilliantly” next week sometime, because THAT is a moving target too, and WAY subjective. Who’s “brilliant”? I have my favorites, you have yours… but what do agents and editors say? That’s all that matters in the gatekeeper system.

    If you’re writing to be read, then you would do that whether or not you ever get published. I would like to be published, indeed. However, even if I never do, I would still write. I have new characters popping into my head all the time that want their stories told. So either I’m meant to write or I’m schizophrenic. Who knows. 😉

    I don’t know if anyone WILL read my work but that’s why I write it. Anything else is self-entertainment. I can do that with Zuma Blitz on Facebook with a lot less stress.

  2. Actually, I’m writing, for now, for my self, for self-actualization and realization. Until I get pass this, I doubt if even anyone want to read my work.

    Nice Post but it somehow a bit of a rant.

    A rant? Not really. Every word is true. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Last year I attended a talk given by a prominent literary agent, together with a few of his most recently signed authors. It was a really interesting event, but also very puzzling indeed.

    Mr Jarrold explained that he used to be an editor. He’s an agent now because it’s agents that work with authors, agents who pick the books, agents who have most of the work & power that editors used to.

    Ha! This isn’t surprising to me. There are “color czars” in the world of design, too, who dictate what the new “trends” are going to be in color a few years before you have ONLY those options available in retail. It’s sickening. And I suspected for a LONG time this was the case.

    That sounded weird to me then and it still does. Why did this separation occur in the first place? Why is there now a double set of obstacles to get through?

    Good question. And now that there are, shouldn’t we have the best books of all time? But no. Great books are dying in slush piles instead of being put into the hands of readers. Why? Good question.

    The other topic that both interested and appalled me was the part about who really holds the power in publishing these days. That’s not agents, or even editors: it’s retailers, and specifically Waterstones and WHSmith. Editors buy books based on what the big book sellers think they can get off their shelves.

    Yes indeed. It’s all about the bottom line.

    So that’s what agents go looking for, of course. Messed up world.

    Of course. And that’s how we get “trends” — the publishing industry decides them, then has agents tell us NOT to write to them.

  4. I think it’s great that you talk about this topic. A lot of writers know these things, but ultimately their dream is to be traditionally published. That’s the only route, anything less makes them false, fraud writers. I’ve never understood that. I want to provide readers with a great story, however I can do that as a career, I will try. Besides, I’m not interested in someone telling me that they’re better. Damn it, I’m devoting the majority of my hours researching, plan on devoting the majority of my life honing and improving my writing. And yet I’ll never, ever be anything but another query in the bucket, another sigh at the end of the day.

    Maybe. Or you could be one of the lucky lottery winners, in the right place at the right time. You never know. 😉 And I have to argue with the “false, fraud writers” statement. They mean they aren’t “real” authors unless they’re knighted by the gatekeepers, and I get that, but that doesn’t speak well of their belief in their ability. AT. ALL.

    No thanks.

    Same here.

    I think a lot of writers just accept that in order to get published. So, ultimately, their told contradiction after contradiction. Be unique, but sorry, you have to be this style to actually get an agent/publisher/magic writing fairy. You have to spend hour after grueling hour editing your work because they say nothing but the best will be accepted, and then they say it’s never good enough. Sorry, our effort, our expertise, is always better than your puny writer knowledge.

    Or experience. How many books do I have to write before I can consider myself a “pro”? (Already do, btw.)

    At least that’s how it feels. I know there are some exceptions, but still.

    Well, every time a writer gets published it’s another story the gatekeepers use to prop up their dying mystique and promise, but it’s all BS, IMO. It’s pretty lucky for a writer to be published. All the elements have to come together to form a perfect storm, or luck. Pure luck. Just like being the next big rock star. It’s not even as fair as American Idol, frankly.

  5. That’s an easy one for me. I’m writing to be read. That is all.

    It’s an easy one for me too, Spark. If I’m not writing for readers, I may as well keep a diary. Or a blog. 😉

Whatta Ya Think?

