Excuses, Excuses

6 thoughts on “Excuses, Excuses”

  1. How awesome! You just saved me an eternity’s worth of time and blunders! Can I do it from an Open Office Word document. Not a big deal if I have to copy and paste first, but just checking.

    Yes, you can… just save the OpenOffice document as a Word document. Make sure you have NO fancy formatting, because that might mess it up. But yeah, I don’t see why you can’t use OO.o for it, Courtney. Go for it! Tell me how you do! (The Mobipocket Creator software is ONLY for Windows, btw, just FYI. I didn’t know that when I wrote the post.)

    1. OpenOffice does a pretty good job of saving as a word .doc. No cutting ans pasting necessary, just “Save As”.

      And I’ve actually broken down and started directly uploading the .doc to smashwords, kindle, and nook stores and letting them do the conversion.

      I thought they were pretty fussy about formatting, and it’s just easier to give ’em what they want (PRC files seem fine so far, unless something’s changed I don’t know about). Thanks, Bryce.

      1. I’ve only ever had a title rejected by Smashwords, and that because I spaced and indented paragraphs. Maybe I’m just a formatting genius.

        They’re pretty fussy. Much TOO fussy IMO for something with that little traffic.

  2. Wow!

    Can this be done on a Mac? *Asks quickly and goes to hide under table *

    Sorry, Damyanti, no. They have an ebook reader for the Mac, but not the ebook creator. Sorry. 😦 (No need to hide, all are welcome here!)

  3. That’s what I used. The only thing they don’t tell you is that your interior image files, if you have any, will be duplicated at the end of the book, unless you delete them before you create the prc file.

    I only had a cover image on the first page, but never saw a duplicate image at the end. Thanks for the heads-up, Linda. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

