Another Frenetic Weekend

6 thoughts on “Another Frenetic Weekend”

  1. Hey, at least you have a publishing deal. Many of us are still searching! Best of luck writing, and thanks for sharing your experiences.

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

    GD, thanks for stopping by today. I checked out your blog, and I have to say you have an interesting perspective. I, myself, may have indeed taken for granted the gift writing for money can be. There is, however, also something to be said for being treated fairly when writing. You may not be aware of how poorly this publisher has treated me with regard to payments, including going so far as to publish my work without paying for it first. That’s against the law, in the event you’re not aware. Still, good luck if you insist on being published through the gatekeeper system, but I would recommend you seriously examine the other options available before dismissing them and deciding there’s only one real way.

  2. I have missed some deadlines on my reports, and I always seemed to come up with a reason (my dog ate my homework, etc.) It never feels good but at the end, the Whew is indeed satisfying. I also have had to push for payment. I can’t stand hurry-up-and-wait clients!

    I can’t stand being jerked around by the publisher, that’s for sure! They want me to honor their contracts when they don’t do so themselves? I cry BS!

    Remember Jack Nicholson in The Shining? All work and no play make Jack a dull boy. So go play this weekend! As for my plans, I’m about to tackle another new recipe. I hope I don’t procrastinate 🙂

    You can do it! 🙂 Have a great weekend, Berna!

  3. I sincerely hope you get this non-fiction book over with so you have more free time (so I can pester you more :3). And I highly doubt your reputation will be affected. At least, I hope it isn’t! I bet most authors have the same deadline issues, especially if said deadlines are so unrealistic.

    Well, I don’t know. I think most of them are just grateful for the paying gig and find a way to do it. They start writing well before the contracts are approved or before they hear from the publisher that it’s okay to go, too. So they get a good jump on it. Me? I like things nice and solidified before I start anything, and that means telling me definitively I have the green light. Which always puts me behind. And I’d probably be finished if I’d just WRITTEN THE DANGED THING FROM SCRATCH instead of re-working my other book on the same topic! AARRGH!

    But you’re always free to “pester” me if you have questions, darlin’. I’m here for ya.

    As for my own plans, I’m a boring person. I might go to Borders. Is it sad that that’ll be the highlight of my weekend? Well, I lie. We might go see Super 8.

    Super 8 sounds like fun. I like alien movies though. And I’m boring too. Big time. I like things boring. Boring is stable. I don’t want to get to a place where I don’t know what’s coming. Although spontaneity has its merits, too. But you’d best hurry to Border’s — they’re going the way of the dodo soon.

  4. Do what we all did in high school – double-space it! That’ll bring up the page count. 😉

    I’m going out for dinner with a friend tonight, and then we’re going to see The Tree of Life. I’m not sure how I’ll feel about a plotless feature, but I guess I’ll find out soon enough.

    Sounds interesting. I couldn’t even get interested in the trailer for Tree of Life when I saw it. Maybe the movie will be better.

  5. All the best…you can do it ! 🙂

    Thank you, Damyanti, I’ll give it my best effort. 🙂 Seriously, had I made this sort of progress all along, I’d be finished now. RRRRR.

  6. I’m behind, but I know you met your deadline and the finished product was awesome!

    Nope, not yet. I’m working my behind off this weekend to catch up. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

