Rip Van Winkle

5 thoughts on “Rip Van Winkle”

  1. Please tell me this is a fiction piece because, sir, you really are not that old yet!

    Nope, all true Spark. I feel even older and I’ve lost 20 years somewhere along the way. With my health issues, I’ll be lucky if I have 20 of ’em left. And so, this is non-fiction and far too real for me to communicate. 🙂

  2. Maybe this sounds pretentious since I’m young and (hopefully) have quite a few years ahead of me, but you didn’t “lose” 20 years. You lived, loved and enjoyed those 20 years. Sure, they passed by faster than you could have anticipated, but when you think about the memories, aren’t they full of happiness? Camping trips, baby kisses, bad haircuts and laughter?

    Indeed it does sound pretentious, Zoogie2, and condescending as well. Of course I lived those 20 years of which I spoke; I existed in a sleep-like — oh, forget it. If I have to explain, it’s not worth the trouble. You’d have to know our history more to understand.,

    On a side note, I hate hourglasses. Have you ever considered that we’re comparing time – one of our less abundant and more precious resources – to sand which is coarse and painful in large amounts? In one of my more emo poems, I wrote about an hourglass filled with tears. Not a fun example, but more accurate since time isn’t discrete units like sand, it’s flimsy and slippery and runs together all at once.

    Hope this introspective period wears off or gets put to good use in your writing!

    I wouldn’t want those sorts of things in writing I’m trying to sell, but thanks.

  3. This is beautiful.

    Time is becoming a scary thing.

    You have much more of it than I do, sweetie. Make the most of it, and being a new mommie will help. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

