The Mysteries of the Reader

7 thoughts on “The Mysteries of the Reader”

  1. Blogging is a curious business. I gave up trying to guess what “people” want to read: posts I expected to be interesting, and which I spent a lot of time on, have frequently failed to attract much attention, while others that I dashed off on a whim have attracted a lot more. Who knows why?

    Exactly. Very frustrating, isn’t it? It annoys me no end.

    I’m blogging much less these days than I used to, so I suppose that’s probably why my traffic is a long way down on previous heights. Trying to build a reliably popular blog is like having a second or third job; you have to keep on it all the time, churn out at least one post per day in order to entertain the tastes of everyone who might stop by. Personally I think writing fiction is a worthier use of some of that blogging time.

    I agree. Let’s write more and blog less. πŸ™‚

    It’s also holiday season again though. Thanksgiving in some parts of the world, Halloween, school half term. Lots of stuff that draws people away from their computers. Point being: it isn’t necessarily you or anything in particular that you’re doing (or not doing).

    True enough. But the sudden drop-off is disconcerting. Thank you for coming around again Charlotte. It’s always such a joy to have you. πŸ™‚

  2. Ah, how expectations change. For a while I was obsessed with my traffic, and my hits were consistently over 50 a day. If they fell below 30 I’d feel frantic to get it back up. Just recently I had 12 hits, and I was ecstatic. Haitus does that to you. And I don’t comment on other blogs much, so no traffic that way.

    I think the blogging bubble has burst. People are blase about it in general.

    I don’t know. Could be. I think new and shiny like Facebook and Google+ will be a preoccupation for a few, then that will drizzle off, then we’ll have more bloggers again, and so forth. Cyclical maybe.

  3. That was a quick leave of absence… :}

    Scheduled posts, m’man. The BANE of all pantsers.

    My traffic seems to stay about the same no matter how long I go on hiatus. Most traffic is going to three or four of my older, more popular posts anyway.

    Interesting you manage to keep the static numbers without fresh content. I think I had that when I had the bio-data stuff up.

  4. It is weird what gets views. Looking at my top 3 viewed posts from the last week, we got:

    3. Looking at naked women in public…. not at a strip club
    2. Girls are like Gremlins
    1. Twins – Take 3 (34 views this week)

    As we can probably tell from this list, sex (women) “sells”. The funniest is the #1 one. I made that post as an experiment, I posted the picture to see if it would get me a lot of views. I was right, it is still one of the most popular blog posts i have ever done. Mind you after saying all this, my blog was NEVER as popular as yours, so 34 views is impressive to me, I am not sure what is impressive to your blog.

    I don’t either, Bob. I’ve never been over 100 consistently. I think my all-time high was something near 140. My wife got over 3500 once. That could be cool. πŸ™‚

  5. Well, sometimes I’m not sure if readers are strange ducks or what…I have some blogs (yours included) in my rss reader BUT, I don’t go to my reader every day or every week. If I see one of yours on FB or some such, like I did, this morning, I click on it and read it, then go back to my reader usually and see if there were some I missed.

    Yeah, that’s probably an approach a lot of people are taking these days. If you don’t, it’s pretty easy to get caught up reading all day and not get anything done!

    I don’t always comment either because I missed the post or because I have nothing really to add. And that’s pretty much how it is for all the blogs I read.

    I generally post a comment just to let someone know I was there. If it’s a popular post or blog, I won’t say anything.

    As for my readers…my most popular post to date was entitled “10 fun facts about the plague.” Which had nothing to do with writing other than that my wip takes place during the plague. I wouldn’t have thought the plague would be such a fascinating topic, but there you go.

    They’re pretty odd, those blog surfers. I have some posts about the search terms which brought people to my blog. Hysterical.

    My other most popular posts were when my cat was dying…hmmm, starting to see a theme here. Anyway, I do pay attention to my stats, and they go up and down, but I don’t get too antsy about it. Guess I just need to write more about the plague…or dying cats. LOL

    Death seems to be a catchy theme, eh? Sick what people want to read about.

  6. I have an easy solution to the problem. I never check my stats. Well, maybe once every couple of months. They’re always next to nil, but that means nothing because I have quality instead of quantity when it comes to blogging friendships.

    Well! That’s the best way to go, I’m sure! πŸ˜€

  7. I don’t try to figure out what my readers want, I just write to get stuff off my chest. Based on the search terms that guide people to my blog, I’ll say there are some strange people out there and I’m not sure I want to know what they’re thinking.

    What you do everyday is important. I’ve missed you and Falcon in the 2+ months I’ve been gone. It’s less about stats and more about friendships!

    True enough, the friendships are key! And we’ve certainly missed you too. πŸ™‚

Whatta Ya Think?

