Pain in the Butt

11 thoughts on “Pain in the Butt”

  1. I think you need to bite the bullet and go to the doctor.

    Yeah, probably. I can’t see what else to do. I’m trying to hold off until after the new year, though, and save the money for Christmas.4B23806

  2. I understand how you feel about today’s doctor world. While I was in Fresno, my allergist person said I was to take this inhaler every day. It had a steroid in it that, while not totally harmful, wasn’t exactly good for you, either. The inhaler also caused you to slowly lose your voice. Lovely. I found all this out from the doctor here in Houston that my mom uses. She doesn’t take insurance and always checks you out, asks in-depth questions, asks about your history, everything. I’ve never seen any doctor be so in-depth with their patients, which is sad. Especially since I’ve been to the hospital many times.

    This is one reason I don’t like doctors. They don’t doctor anything anymore. I stay clear of them when I can, but I might be beyond that now. I don’t know. I don’t believe a heating pad is going to work like my wife does, but at the same time, I have to do something. I can’t spend all day on the couch, fighting for a comfortable position, or lying in bed doing the same thing. *Sigh* And what’s up with a doctor who won’t take insurance? That’s career suicide. Pretty soon NO ONE will be able to afford her. How’s she paying her ridiculous student loans and ungodly malpractice insurance?

    Of course, if it weren’t for my mom’s insurance, we never would’ve been able to afford the ridiculously expensive chemo and radiation. I mean, really, God blessed my mom with her job, but we still shelled out somewhere around $30,000. Insurance covered most of it. When I think about it — think that, without treatment, I would’ve died — I realized the doctors wouldn’t have cared. I mean, it’s all about the money, and it became grossly obvious. So yeah, I don’t trust doctors much, either.

    I was determined to become a doctor until I got derailed back in ’84. Just after high school. I see God’s wisdom in it now, but my family doctor from childhood was a superhero to me. I would’ve given anything to be as good a physician as he was.

    All of this to say that I hope you figure out something that doesn’t involve ridiculously expensive surgery or medication or anything horrible like that.

    Me too. Thanks.

  3. I’m sorry that your experiences have left you with a bad taste for the world of medicine.

    Not all doctors are like that, and it isn’t always a “doctor thing”, it’s often times a “too many patients, not enough doctors/poor system thing”. New doctors aren’t always better, and older doctors certainly aren’t, either.

    I had the same doctor for 23 years, and he was amazing. I grew up with his kids, he was honest, and to the point. He didn’t sugar coat it, and he was funny. He genuinely cared about me. I know he did, and still does. He always asks my mom how I am and how our family is now. He called numerous times to make sure while pregnant I was to get my Rh needles because of my blood type, and I caught of the glimpse he wrote to my OB/GYN, and it was so sweet.

    Finally having to admit I needed to find a doctor where I lived was difficult, so I called and called and called until someone finally said “yes, we’re accepting new patients.” He was a little old Indian man with a very thick accent (and I don’t say Indian to be stereotypical, I say Indian because he is). His office was based out of his home, and it felt like a clinic you would see in a movie. Lots of chairs lined around the walls, it was dark, crappy magazines lying everywhere, and just an off feeling to it. Matt insisted it was fine, and said “you were spoiled with a doctor who had a beautiful office, most aren’t near that nice”.

    When I first suspected I may be pregnant, we thought I was miscarrying, and wanted to have a urine sample, and blood work to be sure, but this doctor, he asked when my last period was, and quickly dismissed me exclaiming “you can’t possibly be pregnant – you had your period” I wanted to rage out on him and ask what 100 year old text book was he reading from. One of Matt’s co-workers at the time, her daughter went full term and didn’t know she was pregnant until being in a car accident, because she barely gained any weight, and she believed she was still having a light period each month. A couple weeks later, we were quite positive I was pregnant, and went to see him again, I told him I had a positive read on a home test, and his demeanor completely changed. He was very happy, and started rattling off all the things we needed to get started on with the hospital and such, and I started to ask questions about somethings I wasn’t sure if I could or couldn’t do now, and he stops me with his hand and slowly waves his hand up and down in front of me saying “dooon’t wooorry about that, God will take care of the baaaby”. Are you serious?!

    I was very thankful to move again and to not see him again. The OB/GYN I was signed up with was amazing. I loved him from day one. He is truly, a very kind, and caring individual. He’s so genuine, and you know he loves what he does. My appointments were brief, but the man has a million things to do, but when he sat down to speak to me, and to check things over with the pregnancy, I know I was all that mattered in that moment. After the pregnancy, and I was struggling with my post partum issues, I went to see him for an appointment, and he asked me if I was breast feeding or not, and I just started bawling, because I wasn’t. And he felt awful, I could see how upset it made him that he made me cry. He quickly told me it wasn’t bad, and I was doing what was right for my child and me, he just wanted to know what I was doing, and I just kept bawling. He hugged me and told me it would be okay. If we ever have another baby, I don’t care where we live, I will be traveling to see him. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience, especially when we originally planned on having a mid wife, and couldn’t after moving to a county that didn’t offer the midwife program.

    The family doctor the hospital found for us is incredible, too. She’s this hilarious and kooky lady, with a delightful accent, and she just lights up when we come in. When I go for appointments for myself, she asks about Matt, and Cain and how they’re doing, and after finally admitting to the post partum issues I was having, she asks Matt how I am doing each time he goes in for his appointments, too, and how Cain is doing. She asks how I am doing on my medication, and how I’m coping, and if I have met anyone in the community. I love how genuine she is, and that we’ve only known her for seven months, and she treats us like my doctor I grew up with did.

    However, my positive experiences won’t change your mind. I hope you find someone who will change your mind though. Doctors, as a whole, aren’t the enemy, individual doctors may be terrible, and sadly, it sounds like you’ve encountered them, but there are many, wonderful, genuine doctors in this world. Some are medication junkies, and love to dole out whatever is new on the market (I assure you, I’ve seen it, as a former technician, you can always tell when something new comes out, because it flies over the counter faster than it can be filled) and some like to stick with the old faithfuls, but there are plenty of doctors who want to feed the soil first, not the plant.

    And it may sound like a conspiracy, but I can assure you back problems in Americans wouldn’t be the mission. My brother has severe back problems, as I’ve told you about, but the only procedure that could fix it has a significantly higher risk of paralyzing him, so with chronic pain, he lives at 23. It’s been years for him, too. Conspiracy has bigger plans.

    Some things, medicine can’t fix, it can only help. Maybe the chiropractor is the right choice for you, or acupuncture, or physio. But what will help most will be losing the weight you’ve mentioned you’d like to ditch. Did you know that for every ten pounds over weight you are, the pressure on your back and knees is the equivalent to 30lbs? I’m not one to preach, you know what I look like, and there’s no hiding that I’m overweight now, and I’ve gained a lot over the last five plus years (I miss my college days), but I do know my back problems, have become worse since having had a baby, and it’s irrelevant, because all those pain killers, and all those “back relief exercises”, physio, and massage, hot bath with Epsom salts, and heating pads won’t stand a chance at fixing the problem – or at least allowing it to become comfortably manageable – until this Fatty gets her butt in gear.

    I’m done rambling now.

    Hehehe. Turns out, you’ve sort of helped me make my point. 🙂

  4. I’m sure since you’ve been dealing with this for a long time ago you’ve already heard of this, but I’ve had some relief from myofascial self-treatment. http://www.medicinenet.com/muscle_pain/article.htm The technique I’m using involves lying on tennis balls to gently stretch the connective tissue in the sensitive spots. It’s working pretty well so far on my neck and lower back.

    Thanks! I’ll check it out! (You got dumped to spam. Sorry!)

  5. Aw, my comment didn’t go through. 😦 I was just talking about myofascial massage, and wanted to give you this link: http://www.medicinenet.com/muscle_pain/article.htm

    The technique I’ve been using the past few days helps, and that is lying on tennis balls to gently stretch the connective tissues in my back and neck.

    Hope you find the answer soon.

    Turns out, the link tagged you as spam for some reason. But I’ve freed you from jail!

  6. Your skepticism is well-founded. My best advice is get referrals to health care professionals from people you trust. In the long run you do need to take care of yourself; sometimes problems get more entrenched the longer they go untreated.

    I have had back pain on and off since my early 20’s. I have had the best results from doing yoga and light exercises every day to strengthen and stretch my back muscles, and from going for massage by a registered massage therapist. Heat will help if the problem is a simple muscle spasm, but if there is inflammation in the tissue a cold pack is actually just the ticket. A nurse I work with revealed the magic of the cold pack to me the last time I had an agonizing spasm, and it worked like a charm. (Just be careful not to over-do the ice: wrap your cold pack in a dishtowel and don’t leave it on for more than 10 minutes at a time, then leave it off at least 10 minutes.)

    One thing that might be affecting your back besides your chair, bed, and pillows: your shoes. You’d be surprised at how much your feet affect the position of your spine. I had to wear orthotics inside my shoes for a few years, and while my body was adjusting to my new posture I felt the effects all the way up my spine, including headaches. It all settled down eventually. So consider changing your footwear, or getting orthotic inserts for your shoes, but if you do give yourself at least a few weeks to get used to the change.

    I’ve thought of this, but man! I wouldn’t even know how to BEGIN with this. First, shoes aren’t cheap. Second, how will I know if it’s them or not? And third, I don’t know that isn’t, but I’m guessing not because of how bad it got BEFORE I had new shoes. (But like I said, how do I know?) Still, good advice.

    As for chiropractors, I went to one for a while. He was very nice and well-intentioned, and he did help my back 99% of the time. However, one time he cracked my back, and accidentally jammed two of my vertebrae against each other. They got stuck. I couldn’t move at all, and he couldn’t seem to unstick me. I remember him pounding my back over and over, grunting and muttering to himself in frustration, until finally he got me unlocked. I didn’t make any more appointments after that. It was pretty scary.

    They scare me too.

  7. I tried to comment twice with my name and url and neither showed up, so I’m trying it while logged into FB.

    If you haven’t already, google “myofascial pain.” I’ve been having good results with tender spots by lying on tennis balls to gently stretch the connective tissue.

    Fal SWEARS by her little racquet ball trick. Same deal; she lays on it, and it loosens all her stuff. Problem is, I don’t know, exactly, where the tissue needs (or even IF it needs) stretching. 😦

  8. My mom went to some sort of (witch doctor) massage therapist and insisted she was healed. She then sent my daughter to her. My daughter swears she’s healed. I don’t have the time to list all the spinal issues my daughter has due to a snowmobile accident and a car accident, but trust me, if my daughter says this woman helped, then she’s some sort of a miracle worker. I think she’s a neuromuscular massage therapist (not sure) and there’s probably one in your area.

Whatta Ya Think?

