If You Give A Inch…

2 thoughts on “If You Give A Inch…”

  1. My ex-husband was/is a woodworker and he “read” Fine Woodworking and a few other magazines like that. I can guarantee he didn’t notice misspellings, the “incorrect use of the indefinite article with a noun beginning with a vowel” or sentences ending with prepositions, but use the wrong size nail or the wrong grit of sandpaper or the wrong stain and he’d be all over it.

    There is that, too. I did a lot of reading as a woodworker, but you know what? I still know how to spell and craft a sentence.

    It would be nice if we could all make money writing about a certain passion or hobby we have. Unfortunately, life is unfair.

    It’s not that I want to make a living writing about a passion. It’s that I want to make a living writing, and this clown was doing so without being able to write. That’s not just unfair, it’s completely ass-backward.

  2. I have heard this same lament from my husband a thousand times. It’s so true: a lot of times people are successful through sheer luck and coincidence. It’s maddening, for sure. I can’t tell you how many incompetent bosses I’ve had, who made tons of money from the work of their better-educated, better-behaved underlings. If I didn’t have nepotism on my side, I don’t know what would have become of me.

    Ah, well — the Bible says, time and chance overtake them all. It does seem so outlandishly stupid though, doesn’t it?

Whatta Ya Think?

