Bad Advice for Writers

2 thoughts on “Bad Advice for Writers”

  1. I try not to get fooled by a good opening. I usually browse a book starting in the middle. I read a random sample of it and see if I find it compelling. If I do then I’ll go back and read the first page. I agree: a book must offer more than a good start in order to be a good book.

    This particular how-to book offers a lot of good advice about the writing process, but the title of the thing focuses on the opening. And like you, I believe a great opening is a dirty trick played on a reader. So good on you for tricking the great opening! Beware, though — it doesn’t work in electronic books. Samples are generally the opening few percent of the book.

Whatta Ya Think?

