Well…

4 thoughts on “Well…”

  1. Hey, I want to bellyache, too. I sat down to write the other night only to learn that many of my websites were hacked. And I had to go out of town the next day. So when I finally got back and caught up with some of my other things, I finally could hit it again. I finally fixed the problem, but could not positively identify the weak spot. So I just upgraded every WordPress edition and changed passwords left and right. Well, exactly one day later it happened again. I turned on the raw access logging now and re-fixed the hacked files. Hopefully I’ll be able to see how they’re doing this now…

    Wow, that SUCKS. I can’t even IMAGINE trying to fix that. Well, best of luck finding that hole and plugging it up so it’s not going to happen again. Does the host provide the server hardening? or do you have to do it yourself?

    So, yeah. Writing is kind of a pleasant dream right now.

    *Sigh* Yes. I know the feeling.

    Good luck on the programming stuff.

    Thanks! I was richly blessed and got the hurdles solved.

    1. Yeah, my host wasn’t so much help this time, but then again, I didn’t want to sit on hold so all I ever did was fire off a trouble ticket.

      Interesting. You’ve crowed about their service in the past. Sounds like things have changed for the worse.

      I’m still not sure where the vulnerability was, but the list of possibilities is pretty short. After the first round, I figured out one of my wordpress installations was still out of date. It could have been a hack for that. There were another couple of scripts/plugins that I don’t use anymore that I deleted, too. They might have been the issue. It’s been a couple of days now without incident, so I think I may have solved it. Now if Google would just give me back my search term rankings…

      Google did my wife dirty too, on some pretty coincidental timing in our opinion (right after she gave Google Chrome a less-than-stellar review). I think they’re abusive, but who can prove it or stop them?

  2. Hmm, well, no complaints from me this week. Work hit an unexpected lull. I must be in the eye of the storm. I don’t envy your position. That new enormous project sounds… well, honestly it sounds unrealistic. I mean, I could order my staff to swim to Italy and back to pick up fresh lasagna for my lunch, but that doesn’t mean it’s a reasonable request.

    I love that analogy! Awesome! I guess the question is, can I do it? I think based on what I learned here this week, it might just be. No promises, of course, but I feel God has really done something amazing for me. 🙂 Have an awesome weekend, Spark!

Whatta Ya Think?

