Another Year Passes

6 thoughts on “Another Year Passes”

  1. I’m so proud of you! You’ve worked so hard to get to this point, and it’s so nice to see it paying off, to see you have some measure of confidence in your skills. Love you! ❤

    Aw, thanks, Love! I love you too, and am just as proud of you for what you’ve done over the last few months! I can’t wait to see what Abba holds for you. 🙂

  2. Isn’t that effed up? The way your review is decided by their pool of increase dollars and not related to actual performance? I hate that. It’s a lie. If they want to lie, that’s fine. But I have to participate in THEIR lie, and that drives me nuts.

    Yep. Me too.

    And that’s what’s going to happen. Heck, it’s already happening; I’m envisioning confrontations and anger I haven’t dealt with yet. How sad.

    I’ve often said that I’d rather just be brought in at a fair salary, and then you can keep your raises and your perfauxmance reviews. Every time I sit down in a review, I know I’m going to walk out of the room more toxic and more disgusted with my employer, so why do it at all? It’s not worth the twos-and-fews.

    I guess that makes sense, but I think from the company’s perspective, they want to hang onto what they consider an investment until such a time as THEY decree it’s time to abandon said investment. So they basically want to be able to dump you BEFORE the “fair salary” they got you with isn’t so fair anymore.

    I’ve said this before, but you won’t listen to me. You don’t make your money in raises. You make your money by moving to a better/different job every four years.

    Insert blow off below.

    I’m not going to blow you off, Shawn, but I don’t have another bird in hand right now, and there are precious few birds to be had. I am, as the post states, making progress toward being able to do just that – peddle my wares and see who nibbles – but for now, this is the best thing I have going. And it hasn’t been four years yet. That’s not a blow-off, that’s reality in my life. If that seems dismissive to you, I’m sorry you feel that way; it’s not meant to be. It’s just a very different world when you tread the path I’ve trod and have the resume I do.

  3. Shawn’s got a good idea. I know of many programmers who only work 2-4 years per employer. So keep learning those dev skills! You may not have a bird in the hand yet, but I’m sure it’ll come along.

    Thanks, B! Yes, Shawn has a GREAT idea, and he’s encouraged me to see what I can do with what I have now. Problem is, the learning has been scattershot and unfocused, so I know what I know, but they can – and have – written volumes about what I don’t now. So I’m trying to figure out a good, solid path to take in a linear direction to have something like mastery over at least ONE aspect of my programming/developer career before I go hawk it elsewhere.

    I’m learning front end development now and trying to pick up a few JavaScript tricks along the way. PHP is on my radar too, and Ruby (on Rails). But if you have any suggestions for a diffuse and sort of haphazardly informed web developer/programmer, please sound off! I’d love to hear ’em!

  4. My current code crush is on good old javascript, with node.js and express.js for doing the server side of stuff. But learning php along with a framework like cakephp or laravel is still very employable. Looking at my local jobs classifieds, there’s many times the amount of php jobs available as ruby on rails or node.js.

    RoR and php are both part of the curriculum I’m using right now, I believe. I’d have to double check. Not sure how to go about learning a framework, like Cake, but I guess I’ll burn that bridge when I get to it. Also, “local classifieds” are just that, so I really want to look at a national listing to find out what’s out there. Right now I think it’s a good idea to know Node/Angular, jQuery is omnipresent, and of course, JavaScript.

    But once you start in any of those languages, you’re going to be like “Why does c# .net make things so hard to do?” 🙂

    If you don’t believe that of Java, you shouldn’t believe it of c# either. c# is easy, and very powerful. Superior to Java because the framework behind it is so universally available and simple to install. Java’s framework…not so much.

    If you aren’t already, one thing you need to be comfortable with is a code versioning system. If you’re going to do web development, that means learning git.

    I knew that would come someday. I’ve tried implementing my own versioning control, but I mess up frequently. I guess knowing something like Toad or, in this case, Git, is going to be vital. But I don’t see anyone teaching it. Suggestions for learning?

  5. Well, rails is a framework for ruby, so you’ll be learning one. Once you’ve done a couple (which you will have, cuz you’re doing .net’s mvc now, right?) other frameworks will be rather straightforward to pick up.

    .NET *is* a framework, actually. A bunch of pre-written code you can tap into to make things happen? Isn’t that the definition of “Framework”? I’ve only ever done MS development, so before the .NET breakout in 2001/2002, there was only ASP – spaghetti code intertangled with the HTML of a page. And the guy who set up our intranet site doesn’t seem to have been long on reusable code, so there’s a lot of cut-and-paste of boilerplate stuff in EVERY.SINGLE.PAGE. he built. I’m hoping to do that. And to answer your question, .NET MVC is about five years old now. I have done some with it, but not much…it requires a lot of reliance on JavaScript and our company still uses IE8 as the “standard” browser. (The JS engine in IE8 is almost non-existent.)

    As for git, there’s a zillion tutorials out there. It’s not a huge undertaking. There’s a free online version of Pro Git, which was written by one of the git developers, so it’s probably a good place to start. http://git-scm.com/book If you’re a one-man-dev-team it really doesn’t matter which versioning system you use, but all of the web dev houses I know of use git.

    I should probably try to learn some standard practices, like SCRUM or waterfall or RAD, along with the git thing. *Sigh* Time…all I need is time…

    When I first made the jump from java to php, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Everything was so much easier, at least for the type of projects I always end up doing. So I have no great love for java, either. And of course I know of your great love of MS products, so I never skip an opportunity to troll on them.

    I honestly can’t wait for PHP. I’m really looking forward to it. The problem is, it won’t do me any good at *this* job. I would have to install Cake alongside .NET and IIS (which, I believe I read, is entirely possible with FastCGI), and some pages would be PHP going forward while others would be ASP.NET (over the last couple years) and the bulk would still be ASP (UGH). Heck, I can’t even use a modern CSS template to make everything LOOK good, never mind changing the back end architecture. Still, I want to learn PHP and have that on my resume.

    You troll you. 🙂

  6. Oh yuck. I had a performance review like that once. I handed in my notice pretty swiftly thereafter. Fortunately at the time I had a friend who could get me a decent job elsewhere. Hang in there!

    Thanks, Spark. I’m not ready to hand in notices about anything just yet, but I’m hoping as far as I knocked this year’s out of the park it won’t be an impossible bar to reach next year. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

