Lockdowns

4 thoughts on “Lockdowns”

  1. Wow, that sucks. I wonder if Box has been blocked there, too. As you said, that’s the way the world is spinning right now, but yes, something else needs to be done to address those issues. Surely there are ways to prevent sensitive company data from being uploaded to off-site storage clouds. Still, what a mess and what a pain. So sorry, Love!

    LTY

    Eh, it’s not a PITA yet, Babe. Soon, maybe, but not yet. And if I need cloud storage we can use the corporate approved vendor. (Follow the link in the post if you’re curious who’s approved. You might get a giggle out of it.)

    Still, more and more stuff is cloud-oriented, and that in itself is a dilemma. How do you reconcile those inherent risks with modern computing practices? It almost makes a case for going back to pen-and-paper.

    Wouldn’t that be the shizz, if everything reverted back to what it was like 30 years ago because computing is just too risky? Ha! Everything old is new again, so it wouldn’t surprise me.

  2. Well explained, Dane. It does seem to me that “lock down” must at some point become the exception to the rule of protection. It seems like a random and clumsy approach with so much experience under their belts. But, what does this limited tech-mind know? 🙂

    Well, we’re not high-tech relative to computing. In our industry, we are top dogs, among the very best, but with technology we…um…lag a bit, I’ll say. It’s just not the focus of our business. Nevertheless, the role of cloud computing is growing, not shrinking, so we have to come up with a better way, IMO.

    We’re celebrating March! And all the green, beer, and baseball we can squeeze into it 😀

    Well, you’d never know it’s March here. It’s come in like a lion to be sure. Temperatures in single digits, negative wind chills, snow…UGH. For the first time in my 24 years of living in the Midwest – and perhaps for the first time in my life – I’m looking forward to spring.

  3. It’s times like this that I’m grateful that I get to be in charge of the network at my workplace. I won’t ever block Facebook – I enjoy it too much! 🙂

    It’s good to be da queen, eh, Spark? 🙂 You might see it otherwise if, say, several of your employees spent more time doing FB than they did doing their jobs. And if you had 200 people and a HUGE draw on bandwidth, sparing it for fun things might not take enough priority for you to keep it. But, as I said in the post, I can’t believe how many times we “hit the ceiling” with bandwidth. REALLY annoying.

Whatta Ya Think?

