Money, Marbles, or Chalk

4 thoughts on “Money, Marbles, or Chalk”

  1. Anything can divide a friendship, if both parties feel strongly enough about it. We’re all seeking to find our “tribe,” and if we find that someone is different somehow, then they’re no longer part of our tribe.

    Yeah, I keep hearing that term, but I think there’s a difference between a tribe made up of individuals with a like purpose and some close relational ties, and a cultish we-all-think-the-same-about-everything uniformity of mind that’s creepy. And I don’t know if the people seeking “tribes” have any idea what it’s like to live in one anyway. They just like the term. (Some “tribes” eat one another, so there’s that.)

    Sad thing is, we don’t have to agree on everything to be friends. Heck, we don’t even have to agree on everything to be spouses. Disagreement is often not a good reason to sever a friendship. Betrayal, now that’s a whole other ball of wax. Treachery is always a good reason to end a relationship, in my opinion. But I can live with a fair amount of disagreement.

    True enough. Sometimes the differences can actually enhance a relationship, offer perspectives we don’t have ourselves, and generally broaden us. They can be good, unless there’s a difference in everything.

    On the other hand, if you and your friends/spouse are always on opposite sides of a thing or an issue, there’s a problem. I know firsthand.

    LTY

    LTY^2

  2. PS – I need this picture! It’s gorgeous!

    I thought I put the link to it. I simply don’t know how to do that on a feature image. Do a Google image search for it – it’s really gorgeous!

    1. Thanks for putting the link in. I can’t use Google image search in IE, and even adding the image search extension to both Chrome and FF, it still wouldn’t give me the option to search for it. Not sure if it’s because it’s used as a header or what.

      Methinks so. I couldn’t search for it either, because it’s a header. You’re more than welcome. 🙂

  3. I’ve said some things I regret. I’m very thankful to have had the opportunity to go to psychotherapy school, where I learned the proper way to do an effective confrontation. I blow my mouth off much less often these days, although still occasionally. I’m only human.

    Yes, we all say things we regret later. There’s a little to be said for the biblical mandate to guard our tongues, and how it’s small, but does BIG damage. But yes…I’m only human. And not a great one at that. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

