Chemical Reaction

4 thoughts on “Chemical Reaction”

  1. Oh, SO already on board with this, Love! I’ve even got a couple toothpaste recipes bookmarked that I’ve been wanting to research. You can get past the bad breath thing by adding a couple drops of peppermint oil in your batch. Actually, toothpaste should be much more easy-peasy than soap or lotion.

    Glad to hear it, Love.

    I know some recipes are great, some gritty, some gross…we’ll have to be fussy and pick one that works for us and the kids. It’s more important for them than us, actually. But we have to HOLD THE LINE on them using it. lol

    There are recipes for hair pomades out there, but I don’t think that’s what you’re looking for. Perhaps a hair lotion or tonic recipe – maybe we could look that up and see what’s out there.

    No, not pomade. A lotion or tonic, yeah, but most of those involve horse hair or something nasty like that. Ick. I just want homemade Vitalis without anything weird in it. 😉

    I’m getting tired of all the chemical-y crap too. Some are good, without doubt, and can do wonderful things, but I think we’re over saturated with them, as a society.

    True, not all are bad, but I think too much of a good thing really applies here. Then we can’t figure out why, after eating 70 years worth of chemical laden foods, we’re getting fatter and dying younger. Gee, let me me see…

    LTY!

    LTY^2

  2. I use commercial (fluoridated) toothpaste, but I use only a tiny bit for each brushing session. My feeling is that as long as I’m spitting it out and not swallowing any, it’s okay. Let’s see… I use natural soaps, natural deodorant, natural hair care… I don’t use all-natural cosmetics, but I also don’t buy the cheapest brands, so I hope that part of the quality I’m paying for is in the ingredients. I don’t have the motivation to make anything at home except my hair care products, which are just baking soda and apple cider vinegar diluted in water.

    We still use fluoridated toothpaste (commercial) too, Spark. It’s not something everyone thinks about. It’s just me, and my path isn’t for all. 🙂

    Also, I like the hair care stuff! We’ve thought about going “no poo” for while but…that’s a little trickier, at least for me and my dandruff condition. So, not all is au naturel in our house either. 🙂

    Oh, incidentally, halitosis often doesn’t begin in the mouth. If you have a clean mouth and your breath is still stinky, chew/eat fresh parsley. That’s what I remember from my health food store days.

    So I’ve heard! Parsley doesn’t do much for me though. I’m not sure how big a problem it is (except when I don’t brush, of course…), but it’s a concern when working with others. 🙂 Thanks for sounding off, Spark! Hope your Pesach and Resurrection Sunday were AWESOME!

  3. I go through these phases every couple of years. I just finished using up an enormous bucket of homemade laundry soap. I’ve made my own toothpaste before (and tooth powder). I keep wanting to try out soap making.

    We’ll let you know how it goes when we get started. 🙂

    And don’t get me started on how much better food products are when they are made without extra processing and chemicals.

    Oh yes. Full agreement on that.

    Also, I know of several people that have had to either brush with or rinse after using baking soda in order to control their bad breath.

    Eh? You mean they brush with baking soda but they still have to rinse with baking soda? I missed something. But I see the point – bad breath with baking soda is a distinct possibility.

Whatta Ya Think?

