Training Wheels

5 thoughts on “Training Wheels”

  1. “I’ve started to wonder if this is how I’m supposed to write. If this is how I was built to write. Is this the style I should have used, stuck with, and run with? Should I have just trusted my God-given talent to create a story, and then looked back under the hood when necessary to ensure things are where they should be?”

    This made me cry. No lie. I want to shout, “Yes, yes, YES!” Love you!

    Oh, Babe, I love you too. I wish I’d hit on this five years ago, six or seven years ago. If I’d known then what I know now, huh? I’m sorry to have wasted so much time, but like so many things in my life of late, I still draw breath, so maybe it’s not too late.

    I totally see us doing this “reverse outlining” thing together for Sharkey, to find out where it’s at, where it’s going, and what’s next. And with GH, maybe this is the fix? Maybe this is the salvation of that original, unedited rawness from the original blog?

    Maybe we can hit it yet. Our stride in fiction. Maybe it’s not over yet.

    And now, you’ve made ME cry. I love you too.

  2. I think i need to do an outline before and a reverse outline while I write. I never follow the outline I do beforehand, at least not exactly. This would probably help a whole lot come editing time.

    You know me, Bryce, how I advocate for the 4-part structure thing. But there’s something to be said for just winging it this way. It really opens creativity up, at least so far.

    And, with this method, there isn’t an “editing time” – maybe a read through for copy editing, but that’s about all. And yes, the reverse outline will help when you finish, or if you get stuck figuring out what’s wrong. It can be draped over a framework to see if the necessary milestones are missing, early, late, whatever. 🙂

    1. Okay, I just read the articles. I’m totally going to try it. Forget outlining beforehand. I’m going to see what comes out.

      I’m completely enamored of the method. I’m almost 10K words in and have had new words every single time I’ve sat down to write. Amazing results. Good hunting!

  3. My left brain is a total control freak. Poor right brain gets neglected. Anything that we can do to honour our right brains must be a good thing.

    This is why most people stop doing creative things around nine or ten years old. They simply don’t have the outlets to train and develop their right brain. Betty Edwards touched on a lot of this – albeit I don’t know how accurate the information in her book remains – in her “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain.” A great book, one I’ve loved for a long time. Check it out at your local library if you get the chance. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

