Ramblin’

4 thoughts on “Ramblin’”

  1. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy it makes me to hear the clicky-clack of your keyboard, knowing you’re in your writerly zone. I think you’ve finally found the key, Babe, I really do. :*

    Aw, thank you Love. So much. I can’t do anything, be anything, without your support and encouragement. Wouldn’t even want to. I can’t tell YOU how much I love YOU, and how happy you make me. Thank you for saying you think this is the key. I really, really want this to be the key.

  2. Writing a novel is finding the Pacific Ocean from St. Louis, circa 1822.

    You have to read the maps others wrote to minimize the chance you’re going to die on the way. But then the map isn’t exactly accurate. You keep moving, keep moving, keep moving, and you make it. And the second time you lead the Conestoga wagons, you are prepared to deviate from the maps.

    The third time you make the journey, you say, “Eff it. There’s a thousand ways to get there and I’ll certainly find one of them sooner or later if the Apache’s don’t get me first.”

    But try and tell that to the young Virginians loading their wagon for the time. They want to hear the plan. They want to see the map. They’ve only got one baby (an idea) and they have to get that baby to the promised land alive. They don’t realize how many babies they are going to have in the course of a fertile lifetime.

    Can’t fault ’em for that.

    Damn Apaches will probably kill ’em first anyway. If was easy, we’d all live in California.

    True enough, ShaMack. We’d all do it if it was easy. Problem is, a lot of those I tried to hand the map to didn’t want to know it existed. Or told me the map didn’t work, stopped them from reaching California. Kept ’em in a mud hut back in St. Louie, actually. So there’s that. And those are the people I apologize to here; they can do it without the maps, no problem, but you don’t get to go back to STL and make that trip until you’re sick of it, and the trip takes way longer than it was supposed to.

    Just put THOSE limits on the trip and then it’s fun and exciting. I bet the Apaches got me too, and I just don’t know it yet. 😉

    See ya when my Internet’s back on.

  3. Oooh, javascript is good. I’m learning meteor.js right now – full stack development, all in js. It’s totally slick. And you will think you’ve died and gone to heaven when it comes to development (and server setup) speed.

    Nice. I haven’t found a library for both server and client side dev. One js script to rule them all would be nice, but remember, it has to be on a Windows 2003 Server box running IIS 6. That’s not negotiable. Still think it’d work?

  4. It’s wonderful that you’re enjoying your writing and feeling so productive! It’s amazing how different the creative process is for different people. Whatever works for you is right, I guess.

    I think that’s what I’m coming to, Spark. Whatever gets the [insert item here] working for you is what’s best. No one-size-fits-all formula, despite how much I wanted there to be. 🙂

Whatta Ya Think?

