Story Length

3 thoughts on “Story Length”

  1. The story should be as long as the story, not the book shelf space or anything like that, that has nothing to do with the story. Somewhere along the way the publishing industry forgot something very important – the reader.

    And I somehow doubt that Shakespeare or Homer wrote to word counts.

    Somewhere along the way the publishing industry forgot something very important – the reader.

    Amen.
    Homer wrote on scrolls by hand. Any scribe who had to redo his work, if he’d had any say in the matter, would likely have rejected it for being too long. LOL.

  2. I don’t worry much about word count, as I too write what’s comfortable for me. While my first book clocked in at 69K (give or take) thus becoming a novel, my preferred writing length is a novella. My latest is that length, although what I have on deck and what I’m working on will be considered novelish (longer than a novella but shorter than a standard novel).

    In any event, write what you want, and if the story is good as a novella so be it. If the story is good because it required you to expand/expound and make it a novel, that’s good too. There really is no wrong or right length for a story.

    That’s exactly what we do G.B. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. That story seemed exactly the right length to me. Not one word too long or too short.

    Thanks so much, and thanks for your help in working it out. I’m going through all your recommendations now, and they’re all helpful. So you didn’t waste a single word either. 🙂 Thank you again!

Whatta Ya Think?

