Wide or Narrow Story Appeal

3 thoughts on “Wide or Narrow Story Appeal”

  1. I don’t know. Perhaps it’s a book thing? I’m thinking of movies, like Star Wars, or Star Trek, where more than one impossible thing was introduced at a time, and people didn’t seem to mind. In fact, enjoyed it. I guess I don’t understand why it would be different in movies but not books. That doesn’t make sense to me.

    It didn’t make sense to me either, but the only thing I could think of was, maybe the visuals of a movie make it easier to swallow impossibilities. SEEING spaceships fly around through space and shoot lasers is a lot different than reading about them. But they definitely had “wide appeal” – look at the success of both franchises. Good points!

  2. I’m thinking that “impossibility” is a relative term, in an imagined context. Things just have to be consistent. If there is internal logic, we can accept multiple impossibilities, as long as they don’t contradict each other.

    So, there we have consensus on this. 🙂 More than one impossibility is fine if there is consistency with the world building and story logic. 🙂

  3. I don’t think that multiple impossibilities in a story matters to me. So long as the story makes sense in a linear fashion and it’s a good read as well, I’m good to go.

    Thanks for sounding off, G.B.! We writers love to hear from readers on this stuff, and I appreciate you adding your voice to the mix. The general viewpoint seems to be the same as yours, so you’re in good company. 🙂 Tell a good story, and the reader will enjoy the impossibilities. Thank you again!

Whatta Ya Think?

