WHAH?!

3 thoughts on “WHAH?!”

  1. For what it’s worth, I got 6300 hits for Ghost Hunters when I did a search in books on Amazon. I got 5400 hits when I did a search for Witch Hunt. So, the names are not unique in any way and I don’t think this other guy jumping into a combined total of nearly 11,000 books with the same names as his is worth getting upset about.

    You’re probably right. i don’t see this other guy coming around and saying, “Oh, yeah, I see you had it first. I’ll go out and change it right now. Thanks for letting me know.” Pretty doubtful.

    Also, FWIW again, I did another search based on the other book title we talked about for the first one, and got 13 hits, none in fiction. So … I don’t know what that means, other than maybe uniqueness might be better? I’m not sure how important that is for book titles though.

    Me either, and are readers doing searches by title? Hm. Interesting question.

    My $.02. LTY!

    LTY2, and thanks for the research. đŸ™‚

  2. I think having the right title that both resonates with the reader and describes the story is essential. A bad title can kill your book before it can even get off the ground. My first is living proof. I landed with a small publisher with my book and sadly, did not change the title when I’d signed the contract. The original title of the book was Line 21, which neither resonated nor described the story. In fact, the reasoning behind the title was so obscure that only a person who does accounting for a living would get it (and they did). Fast forward 3 1/2 years, and now the book, back in my hands, has a new title that both resonates and describes the story.

    Very true, G.B., picking the right title to make a promise to the reader and not give away too much *cough John Dies at the End cough* is a key practice. It’s amazing how much judging books by covers goes on, and yet we still hear that old adage as if some will practice it. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. An apostrophe in the possessive form of “it”? And she calls herself an editor? SMH.

    I know, it’s sort of sad. Then again, no one’s perfect, right? Still…paying for that? Uh…no.

Whatta Ya Think?

