Misnomer

5 thoughts on “Misnomer”

  1. I think you’ve written some genuinely horrifying things. Other stuff is creepy, and some stuff is even funny. I love how you combine the humor with the scary though, because that creates a great roller-coaster of emotions during a read.

    Aw, thanks love. That’s sweet of you. But I got a reaction on exactly one of the stories I’ve written over the years, and not much else. I’d like to move up in this, but I don’t know if I know how. Er…something. LOL.

    I’m glad you like the combinations, but I feel I’m less funny than I used to be too. *Sigh* It’s got to get better eventually, right?

    LTY!

    LTY2!

  2. Great post. I enjoyed reading it. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said β€œreal” horror is going to be different for every reader. I believe that what separates us from being mindless clones of each other is individual experiences developing our psyche. A bad experience with a clown when someone was a child could make clowns totally terrifying to them, where others may not understand the “horror” of a clown. Horror is very individualized.

    Hi, Ron, thanks for the compliment. I think you’re right, and well said. Thanks for coming by today!

  3. I sort of feel your pain, however, it’s not the horror genre (and I don’t read much in it per se) that I have problems labeling myself in, although I have whipped out some neato flash horror for my blog, but initially calling myself a romance writer.

    Problem is, the more I read my own writing, the further I got from calling myself a romance author. I didn’t have much in the way of romance, but did have some sex. But I couldn’t call myself a writer of erotica, because my stories didn’t have that kind of explicit sex required. So eventually I came up with the catchall of calling myself a writer of quirky fiction. Describes my writing to a T.

    I just read an article in a how-to-get-unstuck book about a woman who kept working and reworking a paranormal romance, until finally she took the advice of a friend and overlaid her story scenes on a Hero’s Journey template. She found what was missing and that she’d actually been trying to force an Urban Fantasy story into the Paranormal Romance mold and it wasn’t working. Having discovered the issues, she filled in the missing bits and voila! – Urban Fantasy, and finished book.

  4. Horror is in the eye of the beholder, I suppose. If I had to make up a name for the genre of your most recent novel, I would call it a supernatural thriller.

    YOU are the most epic of epics, Spark. Thank you so much! SOOO much! When I finally put this thing up in the world, I’ll know EXACTLY how to brand it!

Whatta Ya Think?

