Critical Voice

3 thoughts on “Critical Voice”

  1. Yeah, don’t say bromance. It sounds weird. Maybe … WordSmith Hero. πŸ˜€ The stars in the eyes thing, well that’s another line, lol.

    Ha! Okay, ne’er again. πŸ™‚

    I think he’s right though. I think you really need to just let those creative juices flow, not worry about the other stuff. Just write, because you love it, not because there’s a “have to” in there somewhere.

    I think he’s right too. What I don’t know is how to do anything about it. I really don’t. If I can’t figure that out, all the letting the “juices flow” won’t work because I don’t know HOW to let them flow.

    Love you!

    LTY!

  2. I found my speed to be more of novellas (20-40K) than novels. Whenever I try to write a novel, it feels like I’m trying to pad the pages with serious quantities of fluff. As for being stuck creativity-wise, I found that I was able to jump start my writing by deciding to work on a short story trilogy. I had two-thirds of it completed because it features two previously published short stories, so re-writing a 3rd helped jump start my creative juices for another project that I decided to work on.

    Lots of novellas went into KDP back when KU 1.0 hit. I guess a lot of people still like the shorter stuff, but I feel awkward trying to price them. I’ve heard a lot of readers don’t like shorter bits, they want to sink their teeth into a meaty book. But I try to keep my stuff as lean as I can. I write to story, not to word count. πŸ™‚

    I can relate to the fluff-padding thing, though. I just finished a book where I’d LOVE to have been the author’s editor. The book was written back in the early 80s, I think, so how the times have changed. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the tip on breaking out of the slump, too. I’m working hard trying to make ground on one I wrote back in ’07, but so far, no good. I’ve been trying to read through a “get unstuck” craft book I picked up several weeks ago, and it seems like there are some good ideas. Right now, though, I just need to get over the bug that’s got me down. Sorry for the slow response!

  3. Oh you, you take everything so seriously! πŸ˜‰ You’re right – it should be fun, and not so important after all.

    True. Not having a lot of luck gettin’ there though. πŸ™‚

Whatta Ya Think?

