The Ugly Parts

2 thoughts on “The Ugly Parts”

  1. You should ask R what she thinks. She’s been your biggest fan, after me. I think B has been a fan too, at least of the series in general (remember that awesome cover he did?) but I don’t recall him ever mentioning a particular character. He might have an opinion.

    Hm. Get fan input? Interesting. VERY interesting. But doesn’t that ruin it for the three people who might read the book?

    As for the GoT thing, if that’s the one I’m thinking of (and maybe I’m confusing it with WD, because I don’t watch either of them) I heard more than one person say they were done after their favorite was killed. Can’t say whether or not they kept their word. I do know The Sopranos waited until the series finale to kill the main guy. Maybe it’s different in books.

    GoT is where the entire cast was killed off at the end of one of the seasons. WD didn’t do anything like that I ever heard about, but then, yeah – I ain’t watching either one, so what do I know? πŸ™‚ I heard a lot of screaming, but people gobbled up the next season like guppies. Maybe some fell off, but the show’s just as popular as it ever was. That was my point. πŸ™‚ Not all of us have that franchise we can get away with doing this in, however. Having a HUGE powerful juggernaut like GoT makes getting away with that possible. πŸ™‚

    I do know this – Doyle tried killing his darling, and fans screamed, for a decade, to the point he ended up having to bring the guy back. So no, I don’t think people come back to see how the survivors carry on. I think fans want their darlings too, and don’t like it when you kill them.

    /$.02 LTY!

    Well, yes, but I don’t anticipate anyone begging me for a decade to bring the character and stories back. No one’s asking for them now. Why would they later? And your insights are worth a lot more than two cents to me, babe. πŸ™‚

    LTY2

  2. Yes, I do like to see characters survive “insurmountable” challenges, including grieving a loss. We all have to go through it in real life, so it’s inspiring to see a success story of that type portrayed in art. Even if the surviving characters end up with scars.

    Nicely said, Spark! And it gives me hope that maybe I can do this after all. I just don’t want to lose the “true” fans of the series by doing it, since they’re the core readership. πŸ™‚

Whatta Ya Think?

