Too Many Choices

6 thoughts on “Too Many Choices”

  1. I might have an option for you, but I don’t think you’re going to like it. I’ll show you when you get home. πŸ™‚ LTY!

    Well, now, if you don’t think I’m going to like it, why would you show it to me? Silly! Love you madly anyway. πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve been waiting to try out the Word knock-off that’s part of OpenOffice. The Excel knock-off seems to work alright for my needs. (Guess I haven’t needed a Word document lately.)
    Have you tried it?

    I have, but not recently. It was a few years ago when I used it. I found I like the appearance of Word better – the Ribbon is nice. But maybe I’ll give this a new look. Why not, right? πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    I think it’s open-source, so if you’re really adventurous, make it the program you want it to be.
    But then again, if you were willing to do that, you’d just code the whole thing yerself.

    Ha! Yeah, I’m not THAT ambitious. I guess I should think about it though because of stuff like this.

    But by doing that, you’d be a better man than me.
    But, (lotsa buts in this comment) you’re already pretty sure that you’re a better man than me without any new validation.

    You know what I am sure of? That it’s good to see you around again. You’ve been missed.

  3. I’m now writing in writemonkey (when I’m on a PC) and iA writer on a mac. If I need collaboration, I use an export and send in to google drive, then share that document. From there it’s not too big a problem to get it back to markdown text. Often I’ve exported to html (from within LibreOffice/ google docs/word) and then use pandoc to convert html back to markdown.

    Wow, that sounds like a lot of hoops through which to jump, bud. But there might be something to this in the end. I’ve actually wondered about just writing in WriteMonkey and then copying/pasting into Word, since I think WM isn’t able to export as anything but plain text or a weird file format. Then again, I could try Scrivener again, but man alive…HOOPS! Too many HOOPS!

  4. Oooh, ooh, ooh! I got it! Why can’t you send a text file? You just have to learn to use a diff-like tool for windows. For example Notepad++ has a compare plugin that lets you bring up two text files side by side and it highlights what’s different. A quick google reveals a freebie called winmerge http://winmerge.org/ that can do the same. It makes merging easy.

    Mostly I can’t send betas a text file because it’s unattractive and hard on the eyes, doesn’t allow them to use track changes or make comments, and even when I find the changes and note them, they’re not likely to want to go through the learning curve to get things done. But yeah, that conversion tool sounds nifty. I’m gonna check it out! And thanks for continuing to brainstorm on that. πŸ™‚

  5. That first sentence should have read “…send the beta readers a text file…”

    Gotcha. But my answer still stands – asking someone to beta read is an imposition enough. Asking them to do so in a difficult to manage and mark up file might kill the desire to help. πŸ™‚

  6. I was going to suggest that you write your own word processing program, but I see that wigsf beat me to the punch. He’s been back online for what, two weeks, and he’s already stealing my thunder! No fair. πŸ˜‰

    I forgot you and WIGSF were acquainted, Spark! Let the party begin! πŸ™‚

Whatta Ya Think?

