Boo!

3 thoughts on “Boo!”

  1. I’ve been trying to figure it out too, Love. Perhaps it really isn’t your thing, although I find that hard to believe after all these years. Maybe doing something like the Flash Fiction thing again would spark you.

    I’ve had it tough because of work, frankly. Doing FF was fine when I had no job. (Remember, that was back in ’08-09 thereabouts.) So that’s a thought, but if I can squeeze out 1K for FF, I can do it for anything else too. Still, maybe the no agenda aspect might help. I’ll try and see, Love – thanks!

    Actually, I think there’s a couple of things going on.

    I’m always grateful for your insights. 🙂

    First, I think in the back of your mind, you still feel you need to re-do GH before you can go forward, and since you don’t want to re-do GH, you can’t go forward.

    I wonder. I don’t know for sure, but I really wonder. And why? Why can’t I re-do GH? ARGH already! Just…DO IT!

    Second, I think the current WIP isn’t really turning out how you envisioned it and you’re bored with it, and you can’t write when you’re bored.

    I don’t know. I’ve wondered if that’s why the insertions came to me – to get it back to where I envisioned it the first time. I don’t know that I’m bored with it, but that’s as plausible an explanation as I’ve see so far. 🙂

    Third, I think you’re very focused right now on the non-writing aspects of writing, to the point it feels like a job, and that’s very creativity-sucking. No one wants to make a mess when they know they’ll be the ones cleaning it up, and writing is sort of like making a mess. (I’m envisioning kids finger-painting. 🙂 )

    I don’t really think this is the case, Love. I don’t. Maybe if I did the cover I’d feel better about it. That can be inspirational. And I sort of know where the story goes, but maybe I can get moving. But being scared off by the other aspects of indie publishing doesn’t ring true in me. That being said, I’ve been wrong before. 🙂

    Lastly, I think you have a genre stuck in your mind, that you have to write within the parameters of a genre, and that your stuff doesn’t fit. You don’t fit a mold and your stories sometimes don’t either, and that’s fine. Let your betas help you define which genre to categorize your stories.

    I think I want to write a certain genre. But you’re right here. I don’t fit, and maybe that’s playing in, but…how? How would that stop me from writing? Not sure on this one. I think I struggle with this one when it’s time to publish, but don’t really think about it beforehand. At all. (Is that part of the problem?)

    I think you don’t have stories bursting out of your head because you have other concerns that are, things like your job and the stuff going on there. When you allow yourself the freedom to tap into that story-well inside your head, you end up with lots of ideas. I’ve seen it happen.

    Aw, thanks Love. I hope so. I think I’ve mostly forgotten how to tap into that story-well. I just don’t remember how. I think a lot of reading back in ’03-’04 helped. I’m trying to get back to that again.

    So, more of my $.02. Love you madly. :*

    It’s all gold doubloons to me, Babe. Love you back!

  2. I’m glad to hear that the phones are in good working order!

    Me too, Spark! It was pretty nerve-wracking, but it’s all good now. And it’s amazing how much you can learn by reading the manual, apparently. My boss seems to have done so and is aware of some of the intricacies of the software now. 🙂

  3. Been there and done that. Trust me, the passion is always there. But when real world obligations forces your writing to take a back seat, it can seem like the passion (thrill) is gone. Like you, writing is my escape from the lunacies of work (state guv’ment peon here), and while it may seem that the motivation isn’t quite what you expect to be, just remember it’s laying dormant. Once some of the real world garbage starts to fade away, the motivation will return.

    Wow, G.B., that’s an amazing bit of encouragement right there. I really needed to hear that. Or read it, anyway. Thank you so much for the shot in the arm. It means the world right now, when things seem so dark with writing for me.

Whatta Ya Think?

